Come join our family in rural northern Alberta!

Country

Canada

Favourited 26 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    19/04/2018

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    223

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
 
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a Christian family of 6: my husband, myself, and 4 children ages 18, 15, 12 and 10. We frequently take in children from families that need assistance, so we often have between 2-5 extra children around and typically they range in age from 1-8. We enjoy activities such as picnics, camping, boating, skiing, and horse back riding, all of which the vounteer can participate in as well, if they like.

    We have recently purchased an additional property, which requires painting, landscaping, and fencing. Or volunteers can help out with the children and household, or both, whichever they prefer!

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Babysitting / child care
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Help in the house

  • Help

    Help

    Hi, I am looking for someone who would be interested in doing some painting, as well as landscaping and general household help such as cooking and child care. Either male or female is fine.

    I can do the renos or the child care, but not both at the same time! So I can do whatever the volunteer does not want to do. I have many small children around, so applicant MUST like children.

    I have purchased an additional property which needs some renovations and yard work done. As well, we have horses and someone who is experienced with horses could do some ground work and initial saddle work with the younger horses if they so desired, but it is not mandatory.

    I would be looking for someone to work 5 hours a day with weekends off.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, low German

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Volunteer could stay in the camper, with their own washroom, so they can have their own space and downtime away from the busyness of the household! Meals can be provided with the family unless they prefer to do their own.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We live near a small northern Alberta town, so there is no big city life here. On time off volunteers can go horse back riding, picnic by the river, boating, water skiing, and possibly dirt-biking if they have experience. As well, we are going sky-diving on July 23 so if the volunteer wanted to join us for this they could! (They would have to cover that cost themselves.) I will be going to Saskatchewan for a week afterwards, so the volunteer could join us or could return to our home, whichever they prefer. As well, there is a local pro rodeo in the beginning of August, which we would like to take our volunteer to for an authentic Canadian experience, and we would like to cover the cost of this as a thank-you to our volunteer.

    We have hosted a volunteer from Switzerland through another program before and we have travelled to Africa (twice), Honduras, Costa Rica, the U.S. and Mexico. We enjoy meeting new people and having new experiences. We would love to learn Spanish!

    We are a Christian family and we would love for our volunteer to join us for church on Sunday mornings!

    We are pretty easy-going and love to meet new people!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 269859913788