Join our family and help us with daily life in Kaltene, Latvia

Country

Latvia

Favourited 5 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    26/08/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi!

    We are a family of four (2 kids -5 and 19 y.o) living on a coast of Baltic sea in a very beautiful and peaceful place. We have a private house not far from the sea, the house is surrouded by forest.

    We are IT workers, working remotely, at the same time we are very interested in developing our own place and exploring the nearby forests, beaches and places of sightseeng.
    We grow some plants in greenhouse and in the garden, we know quite a lot about wild plants and animals. If you are lucky, you can probably see a deer - deers are our friquent visitors :-)

    The most popular attractions (for spending free time) is swimming, boating (kayaking), riding a bicycle and walking by foot (as the surroundings are really picturesque). We like to explore nearby forests and places of sightseeng, we love hiking and travelling with kids. We invite our guests to stay with us for summer period.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Gardening
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    The place we live is really very beautiful and interesting for guests. Roja, the town 5 km far from us, is called "a summer capital of Latvia".
    Depending on your interests, you can enjoy your time on the one of the most beautiful latvian beaches (Kaltenes akmenaja pludmale), or you can go in for sports (bicycle, swimming, etc ), or enjoy our clean and unpopulated forests with berries, if you are a birdwatcher - there is a special place to go, too. We will give you all the information about places and points of interest around us.

    We speak Russian, English an Latvian, and will be happy to have language exchange with our guests. We have travelled a lot, have experience of hiking with kids also, and we can share some tips about travelling: long travels by bicycles, canoes, and hiking in the mountains are our favorite ways of travelling.

    As we live in a standing alone country house (vienseta) - we can share our experience in gardening, keeping the house, and psicological practices while living alone. We do some works with wood, as the house is surrounded by trees. We have some experience with drifwood (making souvenirs using driftwood - wood, collected on the beach) - and can share this technology, too.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    We need preferably to help us with our son (5 y.o, very active guy) - playing, reading and going for a walk. Also you can help us around the house and the garden. We have a beautiful garden and a greenhouse, where we grow tomatos and cucumbers :-)
    We are all vacinated against Covid-19.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Russian: Fluent
    Latvian (Lettish): Intermediate

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You can stay in a tent or we have two rooms with separate entrance in a main house. We have Internet, hot water and WC in the main house.
    We provide simple food or you can cook for yourself, if you have some special needs.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Please mind, that we have two friendly cute rats that live in a cage :-)
    There is a bus from Riga several times a day to our place; the nearest supermarket is about 5 km away (Roja), we can share a bicycle or take you there by car.
    We do not smoke inside or near the house.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    We have unlimitted internet in the house. We both work in IT so we understand the specifics of this work.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    We can provide parking place, but we don't have permanent opportunity for charging and water (cables).

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    We can accept volonteers with small (not very big) friendly dogs.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 269599928734