Help us at our family home and and live on the edge of Lake Hume, Australia

Country

Australia

Favourited 9 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    06/11/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 17 days

 
  2021 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a busy family of five with three children aged between 14 and 7. Rachael (Mum) works full time and Alex (dad) is stay at home dad. We live in the beautiful small country town of Tallangatta on the edge of Lake Hume. It’s a great location to explore the area, get to the snow in winter or mountain bike in the summer. About half way between Melbourne and Sydney, near Albury/Wodonga. We love circus, good healthy food and life in general and would really like to welcome travellers into our lives and community. We have bikes you can use to explore the high country rail trail and a car you can use to go exploring this beautiful area we live in. All we ask in exchange is help to fit out our bus conversion and some filming of the local area. If you feel like overhauling our veggie garden or cooking dinner feel free.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We can provide you with English practice, including 3 great kids who love to chat. You can explore the best natural sites in Towong Shire courtesy of our local knowledge including the murray river and surrounding national and state parks. Alex is skilled with tools and happy to teach you. We're a well travelled mixed nationality family wry life who have moved back to Australia from the UK for a quiet country life.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    We have 2 projects on the go right now. A house extension (self build) in Tallangatta, the fit out of The Rustic Bus (coach) that will provide vulnerable families with holiday accomodation. We’d love help with these projects or alternatively just free up our time by helping with the kids, cooking, gardening or even travelling around documenting sites where the bus will go with photo and video for the bus to stay in across the region. A great way to explore and really helpful for us. If you can update website and social media content that also a bonus!

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a few alternatives - We can provide a room to stay in our house, a tent in the back yard, sleep in your camper in our driveway. Either way you’ll be comfortable and be looked after like one of the family. We can accommodate couples or one single adult at a time. You will share a bathroom and kitchen with us, we like to eat as a family. We take care of food costs with most of food being gluten free. We also run a festival food stall, free tickets and food for some help during the busy times.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Please text the number above as Rachael's phone is often busy with calls. There's too many things to list here but major attractions are swimming in lake Hume, hiking in Mt Lawson, riding the high country rail trail, lists of Instagram photo opportunities if you like that kind of thing. The closest city is wodonga, 30 minutes by car and we can lend you a vehicle if required.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    We have a couple of desk spaces set up in our house that are perfect for digital nomads.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    You can park in our driveway and sleep in your van if you like.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 2-3 hours a day, 4 days a week


Host ref number: 269549167286