Childcare for our young twins and general house help for our family in Vancouver, Canada

Country

Canada

Favourited 280 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    5  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    01/12/2019

  • Badges

    Good Host
 
Join now to contact this host
  2019 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a family of four, living in a heritage house in beautiful Vancouver BC. We are only looking for long term stays. We have boy/ girl twins (Marshall and Emily) that turned five in January.

    I work part time 25 hours a week. I am looking for someone to be a helping hand with me and the kids and pick them up from kindergarten. Hours would be help from 8am to 9am to help get the kids ready for me to drive to school. Then pick up at 3pm and either take them to a planned activitie or home. I am flexible to pick up as well. I would like the 20 hr to include help cleaning as well. We are willing to top up hours if more time worked.

    Our kids are very nice, courteous, and well behaved with a great routine and they are generally a joy to be around. Our son Marshall has Mosaic Down Syndrome and is doing great: He loves books, animals, singing, talking and a good cuddle. He does not require any special care different from what a typical child does, and in many ways he is easier to manage. Our daughter Emily is a social little girl that loves dresses, singing , dancing and playing with the neighbourhood's many children. They really are nice kids! We have had a couple workaways so they could help give you an idea of what it is like to be part of our family.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Babysitting / child care
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house

  • Help

    Help

    We would love to have a person feel like a member of the family and become a part of our happy home!
    Ideally, you would have some childcare experience and of course you should really love working with children. We would also like someone to settle in for a longer term stay, perhaps 3 -6 months….or even longer.
    Right now our family just needs an extra set of hands to help with everyday things: running errands (e.g. picking up milk at the store), activities (e.g. swimming classes), some light housework, and outings with the kids both alone and with us, the parents. There is flexibility in the hours you will be needed, so it is our wish to set up a routine that works for everyone. We want you to experience a quality life when you are here in this beautiful city, so if you plan things to do we can work with you on days and times. We may ask for some help on weekend days or evenings, as we need to get out for some couple alone time as well.
    We are a social family who likes to have friends over and dinner parties and who loves to get away on the weekends! If we have a weekend away planned you will be welcome to come along, but not required. We do have a friendly, feisty cat named Tiffany. She loves to be cuddled and would love to share your loft if you are willing to have company!

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will have a bed in a spacious loft that has more then enough room to hang out in and be comfortable. The loft is formerly my husband's music room, so there is also a collection of instruments sharing the space. We do respect that this is your space, and seldom need to intrude.
    Our home is an older character house amidst 5 other homes all with young families who have children under the age of 6. We are close neighbourhood that gets together often and our kids play together all the time. Outings or a play date together with another neighbourhood workaway girl can usually be planned and happen often.
    We live in the gorgeous trendy neighbourhood called Mount Pleasant in Vancouver, close to the ocean (3 blocks away) and close to the mountains (30 min drive). It's a fabulous city to be in both summer and winter.
    Our house is only a 5 minute walk to public transit (train) which is one stop to downtown and only 20 minutes to YVR airport. We have shopping, restaurants and coffee shops all within 2 blocks of house!

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There is a bike you can use as you please and we have another workaway girl two doors down that is always looking for a person to hang with……especially if you love yoga and music.
    If you have a friend you would like to travel with there may be an opportunity for another workaway position across the street from us.
    We really want you to be comfortable and will help you find activities that interest you and include you in our family events :) Our house is so close to everything here in the city, it's easy to keep yourself busy on your down time!!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week




Host ref number: 269299816321