Forest mountain homestead in the west Kootenay, Canada

Country

Canada

updated  

Favourited 76 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    22/09/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    443

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 4 days

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    It's a new off grid farm so many infrastructure projects on the go like solar power, greenhouse, construction, plumbing, machine repair, out door kitchen, tree planting, plant propagation, wildcrafting, gardening, seed collecting, growing mushrooms and nature appreciation, climbing mountains, exploring the forests.
    So if you are interested in learning how to drive bulldozers and excavators or do forestry things like trail building, welding, mechanics, slash burning. Possible paid work for those with a working visa.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Charity work
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Mainly enjoy classic West Kootenay homesteading. Building your own home. Growing food, enjoying the nature, wild fermentation, plant propagation, mushroom cultivation, local culture exposure when we visit other farmers and festivals.
    Big emphasis on native and recycled building materials, using tools safely and brilliantly. designing infrastructure that is none toxic, biodegradable and for the future. Constantly asking to what end? Trying to live every moment so gracefully but leveraged to the max. big on humour... riddles...and goofing off with local characters. You will learn lots about Kootenay culture and Czech culture. Last year I visited my Czech workaways. Wow they make things so nice. And great culture. I am looking to creat Kootenay Czech hybrid.

  • Help

    Help

    Just want to share the joys and pains of living an alternate rural simple lifestyle. Working many hours and creative ways so I don’t have to work for somebody or thing. The goal on the farm is to create a complex organism that is resilient and abundant. I want to lead time by the fetlock so efforts are multiplied by careful reflection and action. Basically I need someone to wake up all cheerful and say what are the various priorities of the day Pete? Not wanting too many details... because things change fast. Just enough details to wear the right gear and have the proper safety equipment. Snacks.
    Also need help with computer, Mapping, GIS and other electronic forestry skills. Looking for somebody who likes organizing stuff... repairing..making tools and work spaces more usable and friendly.
    Looking forward to hearing about your experiences and learning. My farm and expertise has been built largley by being and living with volunteers, exchange students, ....work away.
    I value the companionship and group energy from working with travelers.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    english

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    separate cabin with wood fire heat. Off grid so simple lights and low voltage. Private. Gravity water. Propane cook element. Outhouse.
    We eat everything, mostly made from simple ingredients.
    views of mountains, forest and garden.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Kootenay and Mirror lake are nearby for swimming and exploring.
    There are extensive biking and hiking trails from the farm. really good mushroom and berry picking in nearby woods. a ten minute drive away are some public hotsprings that are made in a cave.
    In the town of Kaslo (pop. 1000) 5 minute drive away, has shopping, bar, theater, grocery store, brewery, jazz festival, farmers market...
    There is also many fishing, golfing and kayaking in the area. Bear viewing..wildlife. Just got a new canoe so that is a big thing these days.
    From the farm there are ski and snowshoe trails. also back country ski cabin opportunities.
    extensive library on nature, mushrooms, building, handy crafts, forestry.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5days a week

Host ref number: 267387812152