Come and join our life in the forest with our huskies and mountains close to Øverbygd, Norway

  • Norway
  • Favourited 209 times
  • Last activity: 24 Nov 2023



 Min stay requested: at least 1 month



  • Description



    Hello and welcome to our little place!

    We are Fredrik(37) and Stine(29). Likkanjunni Gård is placed close to Øverbygd in the north of Norway in the forest with very few neighbors. We call the place our own little paradise. We have the river running in the backyard and mountain views from the porch. Our 19 chickens are walking around freely and then we have our 18 alaskan huskies and 2 samoyed.

    We use our dogs as sled dogs. During the summer/autumn time we train them in front of the ATV and in the winter we change to the sled. Our main goal is to have happy and healthy dogs that are just allowed to be dogs. We have 9 adult dogs that we train and then 7 puppies that where born the 29th of May 2023 and 2 small puppies from the 1st of August.
    You can always join the training with the dogs and we will learn you all we know about the dogs, if you want to. All the dogs live outside in small pans and sometimes come inside for some extra cuddles.

    Our projects for the summer and autumn is:
    - Fix/build a bigger chicken house
    - Improve the dog yard
    - Socializing the puppies
    - Build a "free run" for the dogs
    - Helping with training the dogs

    What we need help with in the winter:
    - Training the dogs (sledding)
    - Feeding the dogs and cleaning around the dog yard
    - Small projects inside the house
    - Snow shoveling
    - Puppies - walk with them, mental stimulation, be with them, etc.

    Besides the projects above we also want help with general housekeeping, making dinner, take care of the garden, etc.
    We would really love to expand the kitchen garden a lot. If you have a creative mind and know how to use some tools this is a great project for you.

    We both have fulltime jobs.

    Stine is from Denmark and moved to Norway in the summer of 2022 with Lumi, the samoyed. Stine works as a chef/baker/pastry chef and is an educated physiotherapist for dogs as well. Stine is the "manager" of the now teeny tiny kitchen garden project but is all new and could use some knowledge, but learning by doing. Besides that she likes to knit, hiking, DIY´ing and during the winter learning to ski.

    Fredrik is from the north of Norway. Have been living here in the house for four years. He is working as a daily manager within tourism and is an educated nature guide. He loves to fish and have been doing it his entire life. Besides that he is a true outdoor man, likes to hike, ski and use his hands.

    What can you do here in the forest? We have a little wood boat in the lake which is only 2,5 km from us. You can go fishing there or in the river, go SUP-boarding, hike the amazing trails, take a sauna, make a fire, bake a cake, go explore the north of Norway, the list is long.
    Tromsø is 2 hours away by car. If you don´t come with a car, you can borrow ours from time to time but we both use them for work so it will not be available all the time.
    We also live 2,5 km. from a big dog kennel with five employees from all over the world. It´s one of Fredriks workplaces so we come there from time to time so more dogs to cuddle and people to talk to.

    We want someone that likes to be outside, use your hands, maybe have a creative mind and wants to take part of our life here in the forest. You will be able to join us training the dogs as much as you want.

    If you find our place and way of living interesting, please sent us a message and tell us about yourself and what you can bring to our place :) Please also add when you want to come and how long you can stay. We are looking forward to hear from you!

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    To be here will give you memories that will last for a long time.
    You will learn about dogsledding, the outdoor life and hopefully just learn to enjoy the nature to its fullest.
    We have many days where we just sit outside in silence and look out and listen to the nature.

    You will have the opportunity to go hike with our dogs. You can borrow all the outdoor equipment you would need for a sleepover in the nature.
    This area is famous for its amazing northern lights in the winter and midnight sun in the summer.

    But above all we are very happy to share our lifestyle with you!

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help


    What a day could look like:

    Wake up and eat some breakfast. Start your day around 8-9-ish. (We are not so strict with that) and then you do the morning routine with the dogs. That will consist of feeding the dogs, picking poop and some cuddles. You will be taught about the feeding and how to assess the physical condition of the dogs and understand how the feeding can change from day to day, with the activity of the dogs and the weather.

    Then you will start with whatever project you have (building the chicken house, train the dogs, socialize the puppies etc). If we are not working our daily jobs we will be working alongside each other on projects but if we are working you will take care of it yourself.

    Then we take a long lunch break together or alone before finishing up for the day. The hours of work during the day is 4-5 hours.

    Some days we need more help in the evening and therefor your day will start much later. When working with dogs/animals in general not one day is the same and the working hours can change from day to day.

    We sometimes eat together in the evenings or you can bring your dinner/sandwich/expedition food with you and go for a hike and enjoy it at the waterfall, in the mountains, on the lake in the boat, by the river, or wherever you wanna go :)

  • Languages spoken

    Danish: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Norwegian: Fluent

  • Accommodation


    You will get your own big room in the house, with own access to toilet. You will also have a little cooker, so if you would want a cup of tea, noddles, coffee, etc, you don´t have to come to the kitchen.
    We will share the bath and kitchen upstairs.

    You will have access to wifi.

    Since we only have one room available with a double bed though, we are looking for either a couple or one person. You can also be two friends traveling together but keep in mind that you have to share the bed then :)

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    Almost any size fits here.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 264939541822

Feedback (2)



These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)

Need help with gardening and renovating my old house in Staubø, Norway
Sailing and beach-cleaning in Northern Norway, the most beautiful coastline in the world