Help with my house and garden near Poitiers, France

Country

France

Favourited 171 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    44  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    09/08/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Super Host
 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi, my name is Stephen,
    I live in a small village in a lovely rural part of France just 30 minutes south of Poitiers.
    I am restoring my village house which is over 200 years old, the restoration work is being sympathetically done, I am looking for someone with either building skills or good at DIY skills.

    I would be pleased to have a French speaker as it would allow me to continue to learn the language, but everyone, no matter your language, is welcome, I'm a pretty chilled guy and easy to get along with

    Your room is the best room in the house (see photo) and apart from the double bed there is a sofa & coffee table.
    I was a chef for a while so the food is pretty good, I provide 3 meals a day with a beer or wine with the evening meal, fresh coffee is always on tap or tea if you prefer.
    Previous helpers have enjoyed long country walks with Baboo, fishing, cycling, swimming, learning to play the guitar and improving their English.

    If you don't have your own transport I can pick you up from the local train station at Lussac les Chateaux.

    I live here with Baboo my dog & Lucky the cat.

    I don't have a problem with smokers.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Language practice
    Teaching

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I can help if you're learning english
    I can teach you to play guitar

  • Help

    Help

    I could really do with people with Building Trade Knowledge / experience Carpentry, Plumbing, Plastering etc.

    If you are a french speaker you could help me with my basic french and I can help you with your english

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Beginner

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Nice Double Bedroom, best room in the house, newly decorated, see Photo's

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours/day, 5 days/week maximum

Homemade Ciabatta
Workawayer's room
Red Thai Prawn Curry
Thai Chicken and Vegetable Curry
Indian Lentil Curry and Homemade Chapatti
Stephen Fried Chicken Mmmmm!!!!
Indian Naan Bread
Indian Stuffed Paratha, yummy
Homemade Baguettes
Small Green House
The garden & outdoor kitchen
Pizza / Bread oven needs finishing
The house























Host ref number: 263888493812