Helping hand at an animal sanctuary and create a place for healing in Neuberg im Burgenland, Austria

  • Austria
  • Favourited 118 times
  • Last activity: 6 Dec 2023



 Min stay requested: No minimum



  • Description


    Hello dear traveller. My name is Claudia and 1,5 years ago I bought an old farm for my animal family and myself. I am now living my dream of my own vegan animal sanctuary. The name of the place is "Gaias Herzoase" (Gaias Heartoasis). Here are living a dog, cats, pigs, sheep, rabbits, guinea pigs and giant snails. My vision is to create a place of healing - for animals, humans, the human-animal-relationship and mother earth. I started alone, now I get support by my partner. But the vision is big and I am happy for every helping hand. And also the ~30 animals are happy about every stroking hand and a hand with a treat. ❤️

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Charity Work
    Art Projects
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will experience a special place with a lot of love and harmony. The animals here are working as therapy animals and enjoy to get in contact with humans. Every animal has its own personality. I have a deep bonding with animals and I treat them as equals. My life is a kind of Pippi Langstrumpf (if you know her). It's a very relaxed energy here, so also when you are working you will feel a good energy.

  • Help


    It is very important to me what kind of energy is used here in the field. Take on the tasks that you like to do and that give you pleasure. For example: caring for the animals (feeding, cleaning the animal areas), garden work, cutting wood, repairing things, forest work, building shelters, tidy up and creating order, cooking vegan meals, creating art for the place...

    At the moment I prefer people who have the skill to work with wood (building something, repairing a big wooden door for a cottage, restoring wooden furniture) or artists who want to paint something or create creative spots here on the place. And also somebody who has knowledge about gardening (permaculture) and could be a big help for me (because my main time I give to the animals, so the vegetables garden would be happy about some attention).

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Hungarian: Intermediate

    This host offers a language exchange
    I would like to get better Hungarian skills and to learn Spanish.

  • Accommodation


    There is a guest house with your own kitchen, bathroom and toilet. The bed is for 2 persons. There are possibilities for more sleep places (folding mattress). I wish that you support us with 4-5 hours of work per day. Two days per week are free. You get food for the breakfast, and once a day we cook and eat a meal together. Other meals you have to organise on your own please. Because of my empathy and my love for the animals is our home a vegan place, so there is kindly only vegan food desired.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    I am living in a small calm village surrounded by nature. My place is around 1 ha big with my own forest (there are living the pigs). You can enjoy the wonderful nature and relax in the heart of Mother earth. The sheep love to go for a hike. 15 minutes from our village there is a lake and also the next thermal bath. The village is in the middle of the next little cities Güssing and Oberwart. Once per week I am working in the state capital Eisenstadt, where you could come with me for a visit.
    I am working as a full-time psychologist especially with families (focus on traumatized children and teenagers). Next to this I do some energy healing work for animals and humans. I would describe my way of living as spiritual, deep rooted and also flying high. Balance is the key. I love to spend my time with the animals and the nature, creating, experience the magic of my daily life, sitting around the fire (if you can play an instrument it would be great, because I can't) and recharge my batteries from the stillness.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    This host has indicated that they love having digital nomads stay.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    Only if you get the okay from my dog Maya and they aren't hunting other animals.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 115616821141

Feedback (2)


These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)

Experience and enjoy Easter in Vienna, Austria
Small farm house welcomes new friends in Bad Hall, Austria