Come and give me a hand with some Creative help around my home in Petaling Jaya, Malaysia



Favourited 50 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Badges

    Super Host
  • Description


    HI I am Abbey. I am from KL Malaysia. I live in a house. I am not in any organization but I do charity work. I try my best to make the world a better place one step at a time.


    WHO AM I?

    As my mission, i seek to make the world a better place one step at a time.
    I believe that world peace is attainable if we could just have fun, sit, have coffee and just talk with each other more often.

    I have volunteered as a liaison officer in many conferences, events, meetings and seminars organised by the ministry of youth and sports, world youth foundation , world assembly of youth and the recent global model united nations held in Malaysia in august 2010. It is here that i have developed a passion for people and would like to continue serving the international community in Malaysia. I also am a project manager , writer and an ex licensed tourist guide.

    My Experiences
    1. I have taken international delegates from about 30 countries all over the world around Kuala Lumpur and Melaka. Among them are Global Model United Nations, International Conference On Anti-Terrorism. International Conference For Crime Prevention, World Assembly Of Youth General Assembly, “No East, No West” International Conference on Intercultural Dialogue: Fostering Understanding and Building Bridges Across Cultures Among Young People of Asia and Europe

    2. Since joining CS, I have taken more than 500 people from the world over around Malaysia which covers Pangkor, Melaka, Putrajaya, Caves, Towers, Ipoh, Port Klang, Genting, Elephant Reserves, Port Dickson.

    3. I also love a range of Indian, Chinese, Thai, Arabic, Western , Malay food (too many to list) and I don’t like to eat good food alone

    4. Hosted almost 70 people from all over the world. Each experience makes me a better person.

    5. Hosting CouchSurfing meetups weekly for almost 6 years and still loving it. Currently the Country Ambassador of Malaysia

    MUSIC: R&B, Classical, 90's, 80's, and anything good to listen (I have a weird spotify and shazam playlist)

    MOVIES : Marvel, DC, Inception, Tangled, Unstoppable, Godfather, Sarkar (Hindi Godfather), Nayagan, Baasha , Padayappa, Amistad, Untouchables, Bahubali, Scary Movie 1,2,3 (dont ask me why), Road Trip, Euro Trip, Star Wars, Gubra , Sepet

    TV Series: Dexter, American Horror Story, Friends, How I met your Mother, Persons of Interest

    Books: SELF HELP Stephen Covey ,John C Maxwell,
    Novel : Lord Of The Rings, Star Wars,

    What I have Done

    1.visiting toronto, halifax and nova scotia.
    2.the international climate forum in sulawesi, indonesia
    3.volunteering for distributing tents and clothes in padang, indonesia during the 2009 earthquake
    4.fellowship'ing with people from the slums of bangkok, thailand and learning how joy can be attained in the simplest and basic things in life.
    5. Helping typhoon victims of Philippines in January 2014
    6. Christmas party for the Street people in KL and the Orang Asli Village in Klang
    7.Visiting Hanoi for a Vietnamese- Spanish wedding
    8. Two Day bus ride from Hanoi to HCMC

    You have your own room. I will provide you with a matress , and towel.
    You can use the toiletries , water, laundry, etc

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    1. I will take you to cool places in the city after I finish work.
    2. I perform stand up comedy. So if I perform , you can watch me for free
    3. Wherever I go (couchsurfing meeting, parties etc, you are welcome to join). If i drive you dont have to pay for gas.
    4. Free coffee and tea and toast
    5. My home is your home. will try to help you in whatever way I can
    6. You get a semi - professional shot(s) for your website/portfolio if you want. If you dont want , it is ok

  • Help


    1. Clean the house and keep it tidy (Urgent)
    2. Someone chopped off a tree and dumped it in my backyard. I so urgently need some help in clearing this tree. I cant lift or do heavy work.
    3. The front of my house needs painting, (Not Urgent)
    4. I am also in the process of building a portfolio on my photography website. Hope some of you IT pros read this
    5. I have a slip disc , so i cannot lift heavy objects. So any small help would be great.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Malay: Fluent
    Tamil: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    I am not very good at languages. If you know any tips I would love to learn from you

  • Accommodation


    You will have your own room and bathroom and towels and sheets etc. There is 2 single beds . 1 double airbed and 1 single airbed with Stand Fans. I have another one if you wanna use. I have 300MBPs wifi

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    My home is your home.
    my house is near the bus stop which is 15 mins to the BANDAR UTAMA MRT station.(about 10 mins grab). Remember to get a card at the train station because they dont sell the cards on busses. Crazy (I know)
    5 mins grab to Kelana Jaya LRT
    3 mins away from the 7th biggest mall in the world, 1 UTAMA.
    5 mins away to 5 malls
    Free Internet
    PLease have a local sim. It will be easier for me to contact you.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    I have 300 Mbps fiber connection. All digital nomads are welcome here.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    Not a main thing in Malaysia. But yes if you are travelling the world in a bike , etc . Let me know . But my only request is that you are connected and contactable by phone.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    If you cage them well this is not an issue

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)

Host ref number: 261213191994