Helping eco projects in a small village in Kelantan, Malaysia

Country

Malaysia

Favourited 115 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    19  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    04/07/2020

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    614

  • Badges

    Super Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi, I'm Michelle. I was lived in city and now living in small village in Kelantan with my husband, Ryan, and 2 kids (5 year old and 9 year old), also mother in law and my father. We are in the midst of building up our dream home and life. Our ultimate goal is to earn a simple living and at the same time, well taking care our parents and wish our kids could have a meaningful childhood.

    Kelantan is a unique state in Malaysia which you can see very rich culture of Malay community and people in Kelantan are blended very well among other ethnic. Our village is inherit strong Siam and Chinese culture because we are close to Thailand and Chinese was landed here via the Kelantan River. The people here are speaking Malay, Thai, Chinese and few local dialects. We still strongly adhere to traditional festive like Chinese New Year, Ang Kong Su (a praying ceremony to God), Loy Krathong and customary.

    Kampung Pasir Sena or we pronounce Pasir Senor is located by the Kelantan River, a village that house about 20 families who are descendant of Siam (Thai) and Chinese. It is about 6 hours drive from Kuala Lumpur; or 2 hours drive away from Kota Bahru; or 30 minutes drive from Machang or Kuala Krai or Tanah Merah; or 10 minutes drive from Temangan Town or Temangan Railway station.

    We started building dream since September 2019, we planned to have camp site, wooden houses, tree house, herbs garden, livestock, also a community center to teach local as well as my kids about the world. By August 2020, we hope could operate as homestay that offer cultural exchange to local and international tourist, whilst the people in the village could learn other culture and enhance their household income by a little.

    Prior to everything become reality, we hope could find someone who is energetic, passionate to teach and share, and sense of responsibility to help me taking care and play with my kids and also teaching them as well as the local about your cultural, your country and language. Also, we hope you could enlighten us about the way of building houses, uses of herbs in cooking.


    "Selamat datang!" (Welcome in Bahasa Melayu)

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    Elderly Companion
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Language practice
    Art project
    Teaching

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You have this opportunity to get to know the locals around here and understand more about Malaysia and South East Asia culture. You can also use this opportunity to learn some Bahasa Melayu or Chinese or Thai if you're interested.

    We could prepare food together for the families and other volunteers. If there is any matrimonial ceremony, praying event around the village, you will be invited too.

  • Help

    Help

    Teaching
    We hope you could teach our kids 5 year old & 9 year old about your country, your language
    We hope you could teach the local in speaking simple English

    Eco project
    To help and assist in building and gardening

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Malay, English, Chinese

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will be staying in a chalet/house with equip with bathroom, and simple kitchen.

    We will provide rice, eggs, pasta, noodles, vegetables for you to prepare your own meal. Sometimes, we could cook together when off day.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    When there is your off day, you can explore around with our bicycle or car/ motorbike (if you have a valid international driving license), we do have boat that we could organize a fishing trip and bbq after.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maxmaximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Temporary tent for volunteer
Farewell, Welcome and Birthday Party

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)














Host ref number: 833361645479