Help us to transform our farm into a productive ecosystem in Oppland, Norway

Country

Norway

Favourited 105 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    14  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    30/09/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    422

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    90.9 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a family living in Oppland, Norway, near Norways biggest lake Mjosa. It is a scenic area with nice forests nearby that provide plenty of opportunities for outdoor activities.

    We are transforming our farm into a productive ecosystem that meets as much of our needs for food and energy as possible, at the same time as we are building fertility and biodiversity. We are inspired by ecology and permaculture and see nature as our greatest teacher.

    Kids live on site, and we are a busy family. We will be happy to show you around, introduce you to our farm and include you in our daily work. But we will also expect you to be able to work independantly, as we will be busy taking care of kids and tasks ourselves. So please consider if you have the determination and mindset needed for independant work.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We live in a rural area, with plenty of opportunities for experiences in nature. I have finished a permaculture design certificate course, and use permaculture thinking in designing the farm.

  • Help

    Help

    This year, we will be busy planting trees and bushes, tending a kitchen garden with vegetables, tending to our food forest of perennial vegetables and herbs, looking after our chickens, making firewood and wood chips and harvesting wild food. We will also tidy and clean up around the site, because it was left untended to for 50 years befare we came and needs our loving care.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, Norwegian

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will live in a small, cosy house on the farm, just a few metres away from the main house where we live. The standard in the house is basic. You will mostly cater for yourself with food we provide. We share breaks and tasks and meals when possible.
    There are two bedrooms in the house, and we accept up to four at a time, so you might be sharing a room.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The forest, lake, river and scenic nature areas nearby.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (4.7)

Communication: (4.7)










Host ref number: 256813262446