Experience life in Central Portugal on a beautiful piece of land, and help with basic restoration and creation around garden and home

  • Favourited 2 times
  • Last activity: 23 Jul 2024

Availability

  2024 

 Min stay requested: No minimum

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    We are a small Dutch family (mother, daughter, dog) living in Central Portugal since November 2023, after traveling through Europe for about 1,5 years. We bought a 'modest' piece of land with a ready-to-move-in house. Our land is 4000 m2, terrace shaped, has the most wonderful view, many olive trees, some fruit trees and a huge nature reserve just a few (walking) minutes away from our land.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Charity Work
    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Whether you’re just traveling around, or are specifically looking to experience central Portugal, maybe to move here yourself, this could be the perfect stay. We can tell you about our experiences about life here and connecting with the local community, as well as with other emigrated foreigners.

    We love to meet travellers and connect with people who are (also) re-inventing life. Ideally a couple or a small family with kids. Pets are allowed, as long as your pet and our dog can get along. If you have kids; my daughter loves to play with other youngsters. If you don't have kids; she's good company either way.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    While I like to do some small chores around the house and in the garden, I don’t have the skills (yet) for the really handy stuff. The bathroom has just been renovated and we have nothing else major planned.
    But wat we would love to have, is an outdoor shower. So we can make this a more comfortable place to stay for Workawayers and other guests. It doesn't have to be a super fancy outdoor bathroom, but something more than basic, like a wooden booth with a roof on toop and a nice surface to stand on.

    Other things that would be nice to have some help on are:
    - shaded roof over the porch
    - little bit of fencing
    - vegetable garden
    - gardening
    - (indoor) painting
    You can pick what you like most / what you're good at.

    All in good time.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    Dutch: Fluent
    English: Intermediate
    German: Beginner
    Spanish: Beginner
    French: Beginner
    Portuguese: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We can provide a tent + matras if you don't have one yourself.

    With a campervan or tent you can stay on our land. We’ve reserved the best spot for this, with a stunning view and outside furniture at your disposal. Your beautiful spot is about 100 meters from our house, and positioned in such a way that we all have sufficient privacy.

    While working on the outdoor shower, you can use our inside bathroom.

    Our access road is a bit narrow, so therefore a big camper cannot reach our land. With a campervan (max 180 cm wide) or suv it’s no problem.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    // Walking distance //
    The nature reserve behind our land is an amazing place for a nice walk or climb, or just to have a picnic and enjoy the breathtaking view. You can walk to the center of the village, where there is a cafe and a grocery shop.

    // Driving distance //
    Best would be to have a vehicle to get around, and then you’re able to visit:
    - Fundao (30 min drive)
    - Castelo Branco (45 min drive)
    - Covilha (45 min drive)
    - beautiful Monsanto (30 mins)
    - Serra da Estrela (1 hour)
    - Bigger cities like Porto, Lisbon and Aveiro are about a 2,5 hour drive. Same goes for the (west) coast.

    There are some charming villages in the near, a large supermarket in Penamacor (30 mins) and smaller grocery shops no more than 10 - 15 mins away.

    Especially durning this time of year, there are many lovely mercado’s and meet-ups organized by the (foreign) communities. There are plenty of beautiful river beaches to enjoy a swim and/or a picnic.
    When you're here, I can tell you a lot more about other nice things to do and beautiful places to visit.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    If your campervan is max 1.80 m wide, there is enough space to reach our land via the entrance road.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    Pets are super welcome, we have one too:). If our dog (7 month old female) and your pet somehow don't get along, we could always discuss possible solutions. One of them might be that this is not the best place for you and your pet. Our dog is good around other pets, children and adults.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    I don't expect a certain amount of hours or days a week, as long as we can agree on a finishing date for the projects.

Host ref number: 255634933615

Feedback

Seeking cabin/yurt/dogsitters in Obidos, Portugal
Become part of our beautiful countryside home and help with gardening and some childcare in Penacova, Portugal