House and dog sitting, other times help with setting up food garden near Newcastle, Australia

Country

Australia

new host  

Favourited 39 times


  • rating

    Host rating

    Not yet rated
  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    11/10/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    63.6 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    ***Last minute need for house and dog sitting, other times help with setting up food garden***


    Hi, I’m new to this network. I’m a professional artist, have been doing this kind of work for the last 25 years, in one form or another. I paint in my home studio, around the country and internationally on larger projects and at festivals.

    I recently moved to a new, slightly rustic, tiny house, in the hamlet of Dora Creek, on Lake Macquarie. It’s a wonderful area, rich with natural beauty and great lifestyle possibilities, and a wonderful climate.
    I live here with my two rescue dogs, and am slowly working on making my little piece of paradise as sustainable as possible.
    Apart from straight up ( usually last minute) house and dog sitting, when I’m away on projects, I am looking for help building, setting up and maintaining my garden, and improving the house so there’s more room to share the space with others.

    My next house sitting need is in the last half of October- 2 weeks, the dates aren’t solidly pinned down yet, so ideally someone who could come for a larger window would be perfect. A few day’s with me to show the ropes and introduce you to the dogs would be ideal.

    I’ve done a lot of travelling and love meeting new people on their own adventures. I’m looking forward to the possibility of sharing my space and work with interesting humans from near and far.

    Having shifted to a vegan diet 10 years ago, for compassionate and environmental reasons I cook and make as much of my own and the dogs food at home as possible. I have catered and taught the pleasures and treasures of vegan cooking in the past, and love to share that knowledge still. Though I respect each individuals right to eat whatever they choose, my home is my sanctuary and I ask that all who stay with me maintain a cruelty free kitchen.

    My house is 10 minutes drive to Morriset, 40 to Newcastle, and 1.5 hours from Sydney. It’s also only 15 minutes walk to the station, for a more leisurely journey to enjoy the spectacular scenery of the central coast to either Newcastle or Sydney.
    There is also extensive bushland just minutes away, for riding or walking with the dogs.

    I also have a bicycle, a stand up paddle board and (temporarily) a surf board which working guests can use. There is a good space to park a van inside the gates and have easy access to the house too, if that’s useful. There will be more room when the garden is set up and the garden mulch is where it can do the most good😂

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I’m happy to help with English language practice,.
    There is an abundance of natural beauty in the area and I enjoy taking guests out to experience and enjoy some of these.
    I am keen to help teach vegan cooking and nutrition hacks, for home and travel, and also for sustainably feeding the dogs.
    There may be opportunities for experiential some art tuition, gallery visits and local tours..

  • Help

    Help

    When it’s not just house and dog sitting, I would be looking for help with building, setting up and maintaining my small urban garden, with some general cleaning and maintenance work and for help with walking and caring for the dogs when I’m busy on large projects. There may be limited opportunity for help with some art projects depending on timing and location of project. It would be not more than 4 hours work in a day, some days as little as 1 or 2

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, limited German

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    For house sitting periods the house could accomodate a family, otherwise a private room for a single or couple, with shared bathroom and kitchen.
    I’m happy to share cooking, and provide all the food in the vegan kitchen. As mentioned above I maintain a cruelty free, vegan kitchen in the house, and would ask that workaway guests respect that.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There is a bike to ride, a stand up paddleboard, and surf board for use by workeaway guests, and space just to chill, if that’s what you prefer. I live a pretty quiet life, when at home. Working meditating, making art and walking the dogs mostly, besides doing homey stuff. The internet is good here, so I don’t have a TV, preferring to enjoy documentaries, movies or series online, or just to read a book.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Average 2-3 hours / with 2 days off

Host ref number: 857528777334