Gardening and building in very peaceful South West French countryside, Poitou Charentes



Favourited 16 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity



 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

  • Description


    We, Pete & Brigitte, moved into our house, in very peaceful South West French countryside, August 2016. The house was finished but the garden was a blank canvas. We are operating as a B&B and have had several guests already. We have 2 horses and sometimes up to 2 liveries. We have 2 very friendly dogs.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    General Maintenance
    Help around the house
    Animal Care
    Language practice

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Those that do not speak English can learn a foreign language. Understand how the French equestrian scene works. Learn some French (Brigitte is bilingual). Enjoy some peaceful time away.

  • Help


    What we need : Somebody/ies that will join in. There is weeding and mowing that needs to be done. Stone wall building and wooden raised beds to be made and planted.
    Our horses are competition horses, we need somebody that is very competent when handling and riding the horses. We also need somebody that is willing to poo pick, jump on the muckheap and sweep. Grooming if we go to a competition.
    Some building maintenance help needed – gutters need their joints gluing and the wooden shutters need rubbing down and repainting.
    We will definitely not ask anybody to do anything that we would not do ourselves.

    The accommodation : A large room with double bed, ensuite bath room with large shower. Sofa and large flatscreen TV. French doors opening onto the fabulous view.
    The situation : We live on the crest of a hill, over 1km from any neighbours and 8km from the nearest shops. If you are looking for peace and quiet in a newly converted barn with awesome views then we can offer you that and more.
    Additional info : We anticipate B&B guests who may eat with us, so there should be interaction with others. We hold small scale equestrian events where we would need help, including catering.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent

  • Accommodation


    Private double bedroom with ensuite bath/shower room. Sofa, large flat screen TV. French windows with fantastic views.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    most of a volunteers time off would be spent enjoying the peace and quiet. There may be the use of a small car but this is yet to be purchased. We are very active in and around the property.
    When our children were younger we often had visitors/exchanges so are well versed in having visitors.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 253759673254