Join us and exchange cultures in Bangor, North Wales, UK


United Kingdom

Favourited 116 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Badges

  • Description


    I live with my 8 year old.

    I am self employed in the music business.

    I am very interested in communicating mindfully - with the help of a couple of communication techniques - NVC (also known as Compassionate Communication/Mindful Communication) and recently also Radical Honesty, putting this into practice in the home and family life.

    I identify as left wing/socialist, feminist, and I am into healthy eating & living. I also practise Reiki (Reiki III practitioner), energy clearing (the Jean Haner method) and yoga - I am a qualified yoga teacher.

    I don’t drink alcohol or use drugs or smoke, and I would prefer straight edge/non smokers but if you do smoke it’s ok as long as you use the garden.

    We eat organic and mostly vegetarian.

    I really value sleep & rest/quiet time, I've found it's essential in order to have enough energy to connect with the massive task of being a solo parent and still maintaining a positive outlook/sense of humour! So anyone who stays needs to be ok with being quiet in the evenings as I really appreciate support in getting enough rest as well as the fact that my child goes to sleep by 8pm (usually start the bedtime routine around 7).

    We are a musical family in general and have a piano in the front room, my son is learning to play, and I have a studio in my garage.

    Please feel free to play our piano or the guitar and sing! (Except after 7pm!).

    I am in the process of turning our garden into a permaculture patch. I also recently was given an allotment which I have only had time to plant a few strawberries on - it would be AMAZING to have help with this.

    There is a Free Stall in the drive which needs maintaining plus I plan to put a free ‘Library’ there soon.

    The help I am looking for is mainly home DIY and some gardening. Also potentially help with my learning to drive and learning piano (for my child mainly but I am also interested).

    As for the area...Bangor is a small city (due to the cathedral and university) - there are many green spaces within short walking distance of our house plus all manner of natural beauty accessible by bike/on foot/public transport - and we are a great base to explore the mountains and beaches and the alternative living groups in the area. Sometimes the weather can be very wet/dull but it is an outstandingly beautiful area in terms of the landscape.
    Traeth Llandwyn is one of the most beautiful beaches in the world.
    It's also handy being near the railway station so easy access to other places in the UK by train. I have a bike I can lend if you like cycling.

    I'm in need of help from someone caring who will bond with me and my son, who will take on a share of my load so I can have some time and energy freed up to get on with songwriting and recording/releasing my songs!

    NB I was originally asking for help with childcare/housework but now, as per the official website, unless an exchange can be offered which includes some payment / pocket money Workaway have told me they won't be able to list the profile asking for help with regular childcare and domestic help, so I'm taking that off my profile and whoever comes to stay can do other tasks - the garden, DIY that kind of thing. HOWEVER whoever lives with me will still be expected to pull their weight in terms of household chores just as you would if you were paying rent to live somewhere in a shared situation - ie the cleaning and cooking needs to be fairly shared between the people living in the house. I'm ok to make sure two thirds of the cleaning and cooking etc is done to cover me and my son, but I am not prepared to cook for and clean up after someone else. I hope that sounds reasonable :)

    I am ideally looking for someone who will stay at least 6 months or even longer, but it's also ok if it's a shorter stay.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Help with Eco Projects
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I can help with language learning - English and Welsh. I am interested in language exchange German/French/Welsh. Travellers can explore North Wales from this base. We can practise NVC/Radical Honesty. You can learn more about the music business, happy to share my 20+ years experience, including help with writing songs. (I teach songwriting).

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help


    I would love someone who is a kind and fun person, who likes and respects children. Also anyone interested in music, NVC, minimalism, environmentalism, healthy living, reducing waste.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Welsh: Intermediate
    German: Intermediate
    French: Intermediate

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation


    Small private bedroom. Shared bathroom. Shared fridge. FOOD: We eat mainly vegetarian meals. I eat mostly a plant based/health-foods diet. Organic/local/ethically sourced food.
    I am very much into natural health and healing. Please feel free to ask any questions!

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Plentiful beaches, mountains, lakes, rivers, bike rides to explore. Ask if there's anything specific you want to know :)

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    I can host digital nomads if they are willing to buy the right adaptors for whatever device they are using, to plug into a powerline adaptor. I use hard wired internet connection.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    I would consider this.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.5)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)

Host ref number: 253121798664