Help me with some DIY and garden projects in Ghermanesti, Ilfov, Romania

  • Favourited 49 times
  • Last activity: 7 May 2024

Availability

  2024 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    Hi, My name is Kerry and I am UK trained teacher who has been been working internationally for 15 years.
    5 years ago I decided to build a house in Romania, the project has been very successful and I am now living in my new home. There are a number of jobs to finish in the house and the garden.
    My house is located in Ghermanesti, in the popular residential area of Snagov. My house overlooks the lake. In the summer it is possible for you to hire a jet ski, or kayak and swim in one of the many pools around. etc, Fishing is also available (with permit). The locals also ice skate in the winter but not something I would recommend without local knowledge.
    We are 20 minutes north of Otopeni Airport (30 mins by bus). Getting into the city of Bucharest by bus is easy it can take 1hr -1hr30min depending on traffic or about 40 mins by car. There is also the option of the train and metro from the airport. We are also in an excellent location to visit the beautiful mountain villages in Transylvania.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Romania is a relatively new EU country and is developing rapidly. It is a country steeped in traditions and these are evident all around- in the churches, the architecture, the food. The city is home to some of the most beautiful parks in Europe and they are all well used and respected by the locals. The majority of Bucuresti's live in apartment blocks built in the communist era so the parks are essential out door spaces. All have outdoor gyms (free to the public) and cafes and bars. The tourist 'centre' of the city is Lipscani where tourists find cobbled streets bars, nightclubs and restaurants.
    I have always found Romanian friendly, eager to help and very respectful. They relish the chance to practice their English which makes learning the language quite difficult. I have always felt safe on local transport or walking at night even in the city.
    There are beautiful destinations to visit in Transylvania - the best known are Brasov, Sibiu, Sighisoara and Cluj.
    Romania is still a cheaper place to visit and explore in spite of rising costs recently it is still very good value for money.

  • Help

    Help

    If you have any of these skills I would love to hear from you- paving terrace and tiling exterior wall, rendering garden wall, painting/sanding exterior (metal fences installing new fence posts, tree planting, levelling ground and laying grass seed, carpentry (building a shed/greenhouse) laying a concrete path, Internally there is some painting to do as well. and a splash back to tile in the kitchen.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    It is a new three bedroomed house. I have 2 double bedrooms available with one shared bathroom with bath and attached shower and WC plus a an additional WC.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    working days and hours are flexible and negotiable. I would be happy to accommodate travel plans.

    Excellent internet access
    I don't smoke
    no pets at time of writing this

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    dogs

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 249524773268

Feedback (2)


Photos

Feedback

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (4.0)

Communication: (5.0)




Help create an ecosocialist-ecovillage off-grid intentional community in a Transilvanyan forest, Romania
Come and help me with the renovation of my apartment in Cluj Napoca, Romania