Help us to create a self-sufficient farm in Näsåker, Sweden

  • Favourited 767 times
  • Last activity: 16 Jun 2024



 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks



  • Description


    And welcome to our place! Here some information about us, our projects and surroundings.

    Who are we?

    We are Ida (40) and Christina (36) and soon Helena (31) who live here at this beautiful place together with Ida’s daughter, Ester (5) and Helena’s daughter, Ester (5). Yes they have the same name and age and live parttime with us.

    Ida (Swedish) is a herbalist and works with teaching about plant medicine and runs her own course in plantmedicine at a school nearby. She will focus on creating the herbalgarden this season but she also is involved in the vegetable garden and loves to grow flowers, pick wild food/medicine and to create events and gatherings at the farm.
    She lived at the farm now for 5 years.
    Ida is having her mainfocus on developing the herbalgarden.

    Christina (German) is right now studying sustainable gardening and permaculture and will be head chef of planning and organizing the vegetable garden, a big garden around 200-300 squaremeters wich has provided us with food for the past years. Christina is interested in cooking and baking, and preserving the harvested vegetables, herbs and wild food.
    Christina came to the farm the first time as a volunteer 2021 and kept coming back until she decided to move in for real. It’s now been around 1,5 years we lived here together permanently.
    Christina is boss over the vegetablegarden this year.

    Helena (Danish) is a hardworker who loves outdoor activities, animals, sustainability and right now she is studying the method of forest gardening. She has the previous years also grown vegetables for household needs and took care of sheep, hens and cows. Before moving here, she lived at another farm close by with a similar lifestyle.
    This year we will have sheep, and Helena is the sheep-queen.

    We have many plans and dreams about what we can create (and are creating) here at the farm with endless possibilities.
    We like to look at it as a creative and fun project where a lot of our common and personal dreams can come alive.

    Food and meals

    We like to eat together at least one meal a day and cooking could be part of the day sometimes (for those who are comfortable with that). We have in mind to try a kind of a schedule where everyone is responsible for cooking once a week for example.
    We love to cook and eat good food, most likely directly picked from the garden and once in a while fish or meat from our own farm or friends/neighbours. As a vegan or vegetarian you are really welcome as well :)

    The village and surrounding areas

    The community in our village is a very vivid and creative collection of individuals. There is a lot going on and we have a rich social life that the volonteers easily can take part in.
    There are many concerts, a cinema, handcraft evenings, flea markets, cafés, farmer’s markets and other things organised by people in the village.
    Close by we have many lovely places to hang out, have a barbecue, take a swim or have a walk.

    Projects for 2024

    The herbal garden - an educational garden with 80 species of usable herbs:
    designing, planting, cultivating, preparing, harvesting- this is one of the major projects of may/sept 2024 . The tasks are digging, building beds, designing, planting, cultivating, taking care of and other stuff for finishing the garden in the spring/early summer.

    Vegetable garden and kitchen herb garden:
    Growing for sustainability with compost and mineur from the farm.
    We practice "täckodling" (cover the soil with organic material.
    2021 Ida produced 200 kilos of carrots because they became huge :) and many hundreds of kilos of other yummy vegetables. We also like to plant a lot of flowers in the early season - Because we and especially Ida love them!

    It’s going wild!
    We are all really interested in wild stuff like berries, mushrooms, leaves, eatable flowers and want to spend more time in picking/harvesting them and use them fresh, dried, syrup and much more.

    The big barn:
    Cleaning and sorting out and decorate for using it for concerts, yoga and teaching.

    General maintanance:
    Cutting grass, easy reparation of buildings, preparing firewood for next winter. A part from this we might decide to do some renovation like painting.

    Ida would love to continue creating the web-based/online herbal garden education/content.
    If someone has skills in layout, making videos- blogs and other stuff I am definitely going to consider that help- since it ´s not amongst any of our talents...

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
    Help with Computers/ Internet
  • UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Besides being a very beautifully located village along the river, Näsåker is a hub of an alternative community. Many people have moved here by ideological reasons. Many grow there own vegetables, are downshiftning, trying to live a simpler life without excessive consuming. This started already in the 70th so young and old in the alternative comunity share the same visions.
    Näsåker is also a cultural place and the provider of a big famous worldmusic festival in august called Urkult.
    Due to our rich communitylife many concerts are beeing organised even in beetwen the festival.
    Näsåker is also a famous historical site which attracts many tourists in the summer.
    Nämforsen in Ångermanälven has one of Northern Europe's biggest and most distinctive rock carvings of the approximately 2 300 rock images that were carved in stone right next to the rushing rapids.
    The oldest have been made for over 6000 years ago.
    The nature is stunning and some part of the river offers magical places where you can go swim in the waterfalls, we will bring you there.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help


    Some experience or knowledge of gardening or buildning is of course very welcomed, but not at all a must. The help that is needed is so various that it can suit many different people with different skills or experiences (or not so much experience).
    For example, hanging out with the kids one day when we are working, is as much help as digging in the garden or building something.
    We think that will and curiosity is a very good skill for people staying at our place.
    Since we ourselves are learning by doing when it comes to renovation/constructing, a person with knowledge of constructing will have extra much to offer 😊

  • Languages spoken

    Danish: Fluent
    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Swedish: Fluent
    Spanish: Beginner

  • Accommodation


    There are several houses at the farm which all staying close to each other. For volunteers we can provide two different accommodations.

    One possibility is to stay at a log house called härbre. This has two floors. Under the roof you have a simple and cozy sleeping area. Downstairs you have a sofa, big table, an desk and some simple equipped kitchen. You can stay there alone or as a couple or friends.

    The other option is to stay in the herbal cottage. This is a cute, little house with two rooms and nice view on the sheep pasture. Here can stay as well one person or two friends or a couple.

    We have a separate shower house what also includes a sauna. The toilet(separett) is placed in the main house as well as a proper kitchen where we will have our meals together (if we are not sitting at one of the beautiful spots outside).
    Our plan is to organise the cooking together with the volunteers so we can suit all needs. Ideal would be that we circulate with cooking but plan it together so we can make sure all ingredients are available. If someone doesn´t like to cook it’s not a must.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are easy going and social people and our lifestyles are quite dynamic.
    If you live with us you can expect friends and family coming to visit us every now and then, that plans sometimes changes and that spontaneous activities happen quite often.
    We appreciate taking coffee breaks and chill out and at the same time we like to really engage in a project.
    You will most likely be invited to join for things in the free time but we respect if you just feel like chilling out or going off on your own as well as we might some time on our own sometimes.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 246357121918

Feedback (19)


These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (4.9)

Communication: (5.0)

Expand your knowledge of farm life and become a part of the family, Lapland, Sweden
Help with my dog and cat Höör, south of Sweden