Looking for volunteers to help us with gardening and building in the bush in New South Wales, Australia, near Blue mountain stops

Country

Australia

Favourited 59 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    15  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    23/11/2020

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    159

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Super Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: 1 week or less

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are currently building accommodation and require assistance with this. Gardening always needed. We work long hours, Peter often 6 days per week so visitors have time to themselves to explore our beautiful environment. Over 50 species of bird life have been spotted on our property. Resident wallabies and possums. A car can be provided however there is a bus at the door ( 1 morning and 1 afternoon trip). Walking distance from station to Sydney or Blue Mountains stops. Can spend some with Peter if wanted. Huge selection of books of all genres available to read on the deck or swing lounge in private garden setting. Huge spa bath available. All water rainwater, solar powered home. We'd love to mosaic our water tank if anyone is able to start this project (not a priority, just a thought!).

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    General Maintenance
    Help with Eco Projects
    Help around the house
    Animal Care
    Charity Work
    Language practice
    Art Projects
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Sustainable living; we are teachers and run a non-profit environmental organisation. Care of native animals/environment; sustainable building; organic living; TESOL teacher.

  • Help

    Help

    We live on 5 acres of natural bushland and are currently building. We both work long hours and need help with gardening and fit out of garage for accommodation. Some occasional housework, cooking and dog walking. Always have gardening projects and will be looking at building mud brick/straw bale construction in the next few years.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Own bedroom and bathroom. Camping if wanted (tents provided). All linen, pillows, etc provided.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are close to shops, bushwalking tracks, waterfalls, natural swimming holes (our property is bordered by national park and swimming areas). Close to tourist towns of Katoomba, Blackheath, etc (many local and tourist attractions such as Three Sisters, Scenic Skyway, Hydro majestic, the Edge cinema, eateries, cafes, tours, etc). Have had many volunteers and travellers stay at our home for many years. We live a fairly quiet lifestyle however love to meet up with friends, have dinner parties and BBQ's. Love music, animals and nature. Like minded people who live a sustainable lifestyle are always welcome. Only plant based, biodegradable, chemical free products used in our home. These are all provided for visitors.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)










Host ref number: 382446479674