Mother's helper needed on the beautiful Jurassic Coast, UK

Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 277 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    15  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    16/10/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    150

  • Badges

    Super Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a family of 5 living in the seaside town of Weymouth, close to the town centre and harbour. The children are aged 11, 7, 4 and 1.

    We prioritise hosting other families, even if you also have younger children/babies - it's a chance to live communally and the children love having live-in friends!

    The 'work' is relaxed and flexible - as you will be living in our busy household, there is always something to do at all times of the day, but I prefer to see it as a communal-living experience rather than a host/volunteer relationship. I will let you know if I need help for something specific, otherwise you are also free to explore the local area as if on holiday.

    I am trying to pursue a minimalist and zero-waste lifestyle, slowly getting back to basics with many things. We avoid harsh chemicals in our home (please do not bring any sprays containing artificial perfumes as it triggers my asthma) and clean our home with natural products. I'm interested in yoga, naturopathy and regenerative culture, and we follow a vegan diet.

    My eldest (11) enjoys gaming, technology, books, maths, sketching, playing board games, watching films, Magic The Gathering and Pokémon.

    My girls (7 & 4) love dancing, singing, playing hide-and-seek, doing yoga/gymnastics, fashion, crafts and playing dress-up. They spend a lot of time playing in the communal areas around our home with our neighbours' children.

    My youngest is 1.5 years and is with me for most of the day - it is helpful to me if he is occasionally taken out for a walk by someone else just so I can have a bath in peace :-D

    As a family we love travelling and try to get away a few times per year. Yet we also live in a beautiful part of the UK where there is plenty to explore, and we enjoy rediscovering our favourite places with our guests.

    We have a variety of musical instruments, enjoy experimenting with food and can share family days out with our guests in our locale (rockpools, gardens, beaches, nature reserve, parks, children's library, play café, coast path, etc).

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Other
    Help in the house
    Language practice
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I have lived in Weymouth for 14 years and have a good amount of local knowledge. We have a fairly 'alternative' lifestyle and see ourselves as global citizens - yet we can also advise you on British traditions and cuisine.
    We talk about Morocco a lot as my childrens' father is Moroccan and we have been there many times.
    My topics of expertise are natural birth (I have had 4 homebirths), breastfeeding (qualified breastfeeding counsellor), spiritual philosophy (currently practicing ashtanga yoga) and vegan cookery.

  • Help

    Help

    Helping in the day to day running of our household:

    *️️️️️️️️️ Facilitating and supervising play and activities for the children;

    *️️️️️️️️️ Doing the housework - please just use your initiative if you see something that needs doing;

    *️️️ Sharing cooking where necessary (my eldest usually loves learning from our guests in the kitchen);

    *️️️️️️️️️ General childcare duties allowing me to focus on my own work and interests (I am currently studying and occasionally like to get out for yoga classes);

    *️️️️️ Occasional odd jobs as needed - DIY jobs, painting and decorating, sewing. I'll only expect help with this if it's something you're comfortable/skilled with;

    *️️️️️ Sharing your culture and language to facilitate our worldschooling journey (we are particularly keen to learn Spanish as well as my children's father's native language of Tamazight Berber);

    *️️️️️ Accompanying us on trips outside the home - sometimes taking the children to their activities yourself if we are both happy with this arrangement.

    In return, I'm very happy to do what I can to facilitate your enjoyment and exploration of the beautiful area we live in during your stay with us.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, Arabic (Moroccan dialect)

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Ground floor flat. Guests can use the largest bedroom which has two single beds and can also accommodate a double camp mattress. Whilst I do my best to maintain your privacy, we do need access to this room as it is where my daughters keep their belongings. Everywhere else is shared space (one bathroom/toilet for the whole household).

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We live in the popular seaside town of Weymouth where there are plenty of tourist sites within easy reach:
    Jurassic Coast (UNESCO World Heritage Site)
    10 minute walk to the main beach
    40 minute walk to the Sealife centre
    2 minute walk into town centre
    2 minute walk to the harbour
    20 minute walk to the train station
    Easy access to Portland and Dorchester
    Easy access to South West Coast Path
    Within walking distance of 2 nature reserves

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Flexible, max 25 hours

Lennon Wall, Prague
Beautiful Dorset
Welcoming Baby
Home Ed project
Weymouth









Host ref number: 244869249215