Come and help us with Petsitting and desert gardening in beautiful Joshua Tree, USA

Country

United States

Favourited 88 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    14/10/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    81.8 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 12 days

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We have a cozy two bedroom home right in the heart of Joshua Tree, California in the Mojave Desert. The home is walking distance to town, where there are groceries, bus stops, coffee shops, yoga, and a free shuttle into the national park, which is about 10 minutes away. The house is at the edge of the hills, so only a few blocks away are desert hills, and you can hike for miles. There are public pools and waterfalls nearby (20min) and the mountains, waterfalls, hot springs, and river are about an hour away, so exploring is very diverse around these parts.

    We are going to be leaving for work from mid-June to the end of August and need someone to watch the animals and tend a garden while we are gone! There is also a ceramic studio with a wheel and a kiln you are welcome to use if you have experience. We have five chickens, laying regular eggs, and a cat, who is incredibly friendly. There is a small drought tolerant herb and veggie garden you are welcome to collect from and garden in as you please. We have lots of books to read and kitchen with appliances like a juicer and blender. We provide all animal food and you can live in beautiful joshua tree for free.

    We have a washing machine, dryer, clothes line, high speed internet, and air conditioning. It's the perfect retreat for a writer, musician, artist, or someone who works from home. It is also an epic hiking and rock climbing destination. We welcome couples or individuals, but we can't accomodate dogs (unless maybe your dog is really old and won't scare the cat or chickens) or other cats though.

    You should probably have your own vehicle to stay here, but if you don't we can help figure something out!

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You can learn all about the desert! We have a large collection of ecology and natural history books and field guides. If you like pottery, there is a studio for you to work in, and we can give you resources to collect wild clay and learn to pit fire pots. You can have lots of space to yourself out here.

  • Help

    Help

    You dont need any skills, we are just hoping to find a trustworthy house sitter and animal caretaker! We will show you how to care for the chickens - it's very easy!

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    english

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will be staying in the main house. There are two bedrooms each with a bed, a full bathroom, kitchen, and living room with a back sunroom/pottery studio.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Local sights and opportunities to explore are abundant. Caring for the animals and garden will only take about 10 minutes a day.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    10 minutes/day

Host ref number: 244733939217