Help to homeschool our kids and some household projects on beautiful Vancouver Island, Canada

Country

Canada

Favourited 162 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    7  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    05/09/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    78.1 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 6 days

  • Badges

    Good Host
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a Canadian/Dutch family. Mom (Dutch), Dad (Canadian) a 9 year old son and a almost 2 year old son.
    Starting September our oldest will not go to school anymore and we are starting a unschool/ homeschool adventure. We would like our kids to be more free in what they learn and try to follow their interests.
    We are looking for people that want to follow our children’s interest/ passions and show them your passion/ skills. Like making music, dancing, cooking, gardening, woodwork, writing stories, drawing, the ideas are endless. Also some help to finish our own designed house is needed. So we think a couple would work the best for us.
    We live in the middle of a nature park on a lake and love to explore our forrest around us. It’s half a hour/ 40 minutes away from town, with the nearest bus stop 4 kilometres away. We are always open to give you a lift or lend you our bike or car.
    We like healthy food, believe in nutrition above pharmaceuticals. We are not vegetarian but don't eat a lot of meat. We have a cressed gekko as our pet :-). Not a lot of work, but hanging out with him and our son would be great! He is lonely in his tank.
    Looking forward to hear from you!

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Language practice
    Art project
    Teaching

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    A different way of life with unschooling our kids. Two cultures in one family.
    Our house and garden is a great place to be in nature and close to the city. We like to have people around, share healthy meals, play games, be creative.
    We can help you find fun/ interesting things to do in Victoria that might not be the usual tourist stuff. Or go together to explore our beautiful surroundings.

  • Help

    Help

    We are looking for people that understand our choice to unschool and are willing to be with our children and follow their passion and make fun and good connections. Share you life skills and your culture.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, Dutch

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a private nice, but still a little unfinished ( could use some pictures in the wall and curtain on the window) room with a king size bed, big closet space and couch. You have your own bathroom with a shower.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Victoria is a great place to visit you can go on a whale watching trip, great biking and walking possibilities, museums, local markets, beaches abound, butterfly garden, flower gardens, nature parks, camping and lots of nice weather to enjoy!
    We are considerate, casual, creative people that like to be around other people.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week






Host ref number: 655466533239