We are after volunteers with experience in general maintenance, gardening, and help around the house and caring for our animals., Mallacoota, Victoria, Australia

Country

Australia

Favourited 63 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    7  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    29/05/2020

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    483

  • Badges

    Good Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We live in Mallacoota, a small town which sits in the middle of the Croajingolong National Park halfway between Melbourne (525kms) and Sydney (640kms). With a population of only 1000, it is one of the most beautiful places in Australia, known as the Wilderness Coast and is a World Biosphere Reserve. Deserted beaches, heaps of wildlife, and an inland lake system with both inshore and offshore islands combined with an almost Mediterranean climate.

    Our three girls ride their bikes to school, care for 25 chickens, the rabbit and 5 guinea pigs, 2 dogs and a cat, and groom and ride their 2 horses. We need help looking after the animals, the stables, the food garden and the orchard. Other tasks include mowing, weeding and general maintenance around the house.

    Weekends are varied, sometimes campfires on the local beach to hiking, diving, caving, biking, boating, fishing and hunting.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Help

    Help

    Cate and I work full time so looking after the property without help is challenging. We are after volunteers to help with general maintenance, mowing, gardening, cleaning, firewood collection, and help with cleaning up after meals. If you enjoy cooking feel free.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We can offer a room with two king singles (the beds are really good) and a WIR and shared bathroom. Don't be surprised if you wake up with an Eastern Grey Kangaroo or Red Necked Wallaby looking in your window.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Please tell us your age, your degree of spoken English (not so good/ fair/good etc) and something about yourself as
    helpers become part of the family. We spend a lot of time down the beach, hiking, bike riding, caving, boating, fishing, hunting, and watching a good movie in front of the fire at night with the kids.

    Feel free to borrow one of the bikes and explore the region on one of the numerous bike paths. There is good transport from Melbourne which takes about 8 hours, or Sydney which is a little harder. Both Cate and I have traveled extensively and know what it is like to travel and live in another country.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Sunrise on Quarry beach with Gabo island in the background. You can just see the lighthouse to the left of the sun.
The chicks are starting to hatch.
Rock climbing at Buchan.
Checking equipment for caving at Buchan.
Collecting vegetables from our garden in Summer.
Betka beach about 5 kms from home. A favourite swimming and picnic spot for locals.
Teaching surfing to helpers at big beach, only 3 kms from our home.
Rappelling down sea cliffs near home to collect oysters.
Caving near our holiday house in Buchan Victoria.
Sunset near Mallacoota.
The family on the lake for a picnic.
Fire on the beach.
The Narrows picnic spot. You can only get here by boat.
Our home.
Sunrise over the bottom lake.
The township of Mallacoota.





Host ref number: 242456772918