Come join our young farm and learn from nature, on food, shelter and peace of mind in Thailand

Country

Thailand

updated  

Favourited 603 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    34  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    14/09/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    1368

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    94.5 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 15 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 3 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello fellow Earth-dwellers,
    This is a space that I am creating to live sustainably in collaboration with Nature since January 2017; to grow our own food, build our shelter and live with the local community as part of my yoga and meditation practice. it has been an amazing journey and I hope to build this space to share with people interested to reconnect with the basic essence of life through simple daily activities of feeding ourselves healthful wholesome food, caring for our environment starting from our own little shelter, and nurturing ourselves and everyone and living beings whom we share this home with.

    We are situated in a Lanna village and my relatives (Uncle and Auntie) are local Lanna farmers in their 60s. They are a bit shy but very hospitable and love meeting people from different parts of the world which they do not have easy access to. You can have the opportunity to taste some very local Lanna food, get a sense of the village life here and learn about the local native edible wild greens (which you can also forage for in many parts of Southeast Asia). I also organise a children's programme once a year(late Sep/ early Oct) which means 'Come Learn, Come Play' in the Thai language, to facilitate interaction between the village children and participants, for them to practice English and learn about other cultures.

    The land we work on is a small longan orchard with over 20 trees that have fruited for the first year in 2018. As of October 2018, we have experience our first longan harvest! and is in the process of creating more delicious food with this sweet and juicy fruit.

    In the meantime, I've also gained access to an old and rundown small house which I'm rebuilding with mud, so we are also working with natural building of mud and bamboo. This house is in the village itself, 5 minutes walk from the farm. Most of the walls are up and we have started activating the space by cooking and eating in the compound.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Language practice
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will have the opportunity to learn about growing food naturally, plants, seed saving, natural building, plant-based cooking, yoga and meditation, languages including Thai and Lanna, and get a sense of how a contemporary local Lanna village moves.

    We encourage and support participants to learn some basic Thai during their time here to be able to interact with the local villagers.

    There is also a small library building up with books on natural farming, permaculture, spirituality, farming, inspiring stories etc. and a few little musical and sound instruments we can play with, including, a ukulele, a mini xylophone-like instrument and a few shakers.

  • Help

    Help

    We will continue to building the mud house, with the cobbing and plastering, fencing etc. and in the farm, and the usual weeding, planting, seed saving, gardening work as weather permits.

    The ideal participants would be someone with a pioneering spirit, problem-solver, motivated, adaptable, and most importantly, positive energy. :)

    Participants would form a community and help in farming/ gardening, natural building, cooking our meals together (for 4-6 people), general cleaning up, at times you may be asked to help with a bit of photo/ video documentation and archiving, seed saving, researching on plants and natural building, occasionally a little time will be on social media update/ writing, helping the village children with English homework, and whatever else suits the farm needs and person's skillsets. Generally, we will do all the basic required daily tasks of farming, cooking, cleaning and building together. This is a space for us to learn, grow and be creative together.

    If you don't have any experience in farming or building, no worries, as long as you're interested and keen to learn, you are welcome. Be prepared to be out in the sun (not when it's too hot) and getting your hands dirty with soil and mud. Most of the task are physical and we want to do it with mindfulness and body awareness, so that we may sustain and strengthen ourselves in the process. The ideal person would be someone who is comfortable working in a small group but also is self-motivated to work independently.

    A typical day would start early, exact time depends on the season and weather. We begin the day with a pre-breakfast meditation, followed by breakfast.
    We will work for about 5-6 hours a day, for 4 days a week. Plant-based meals are provided on work days. On days off, you are welcome to self-organise and use our plant-based kitchen with a nominal cost share for kitchen facilities and basic pantry ingredients. Those inspired are welcome to create special projects of their own to add to space, which they can be supported and work on the days off.

    We prefer a minimum stay of at least three weeks, and preferably longer, as it takes some time to orientate and gives us time to build a rapport in working and living together in a relatively intimate community of 4-8 people.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, Thai, Lanna, Mandarin, some French, some Spanish

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    The accommodation would be camping on the land on bamboo platforms, and there is one bed space in the small mudhouse that is currently being built. Most of the walls are up and we will finish that and start the plastering process to make the walls more smooth and nice, and also add some creative wall art with cob.

    Please note that we want to create a wholesome and conscious space for living. During your stay with us, please refrain from the use of any drugs, cigarettes and alcohol.

    As of October 8, 2018, we have a cute little addition in the form of a black kitten who has chose to join us.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The village is a few minutes drive or 30 minutes walk to the main road that has Internet cafe, 7-eleven, local market, phone shop, hair salon etc. The Chiang Mai - Thaton bus passes by this main road every 40-45 mins.

    There is a small river less than 20 minutes walk or 10 minutes bicycle ride away to go for a dip and a few other interesting spots to visit in the area. The Lanna people goes to the local temple a few times a month for offering or some celebration which we could join in if interested.

    Every now and then, we do our marketing from the local Thai market on the main road, or to the nearby Chinese village where we can also taste local Yunnan food or Taiwanese vegan food at a lovely vegan cafe.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week




















Host ref number: 233622267574