Dog lovers! Help For Dogs in Chiang Mai, Northern Thailand



Favourited 1389 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    83.6 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Top Host

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

  • Description


    I am Corinna, a German who has lived in Chiang Mai for almost 15 years. I have 10 rescued dogs, who are living with me in the house.
    During all these years, I've been supporting and helping stray dogs, abandoned temple dogs, some shelters and the local community, bringing the dogs food, medicine, providing sterilisation and trying to find them a lovely home.
    Currently, the shelter I help has over 300 dogs needing cuddles and attention.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    General Maintenance
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Charity work
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will be staying in a lovely countryside area, with the local quiet community, surrounded by nature. You can drive the scooter to explore the area, visit the Grand Canyon, local coffee shops and enjoy great hiking in the nature.
    The best part: the dogs give so much love! They all have different personalities and stories, but all love to be with humans receiving lots of cuddles and love.

  • Help


    Please, read these tasks before applying for this opportunity.

    First of all, you have to LOVE DOGS! You will be with all types of dogs on a daily basis, who need attention, love PATIENCE and care. You will get dirty, you will be licked and loved; Dogs are the priority in this Workaway.
    I live 25 minutes from Chiang Mai old town (around 20km south), in a pleasant countryside area, surrounded by nature. It is a quiet area, not suitable for party lovers or a city-person.

    We give free breakfast but not more, because we do not earn money with our dog help project.
    But you can use the kitchen in the house.

    These are the main tasks, but not limited to:

    *️️️️️️️️️️️️cook for the dogs and feed them
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️train them on the leash
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️walk the dogs in the morning
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️bathe them when necessary
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️give them attention, love, cuddles
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️give the dogs medicine when necessary
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️take care of the house and keep it clean (sweep and mop the floor, wash dishes for you and the dogs, general cleaning etc)
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️go to the shelter 3x week to help them and love the dogs
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️visit the temple on Mondays to feed the dogs and pet them
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️help to bring dogs to Vet appointments

    It depends how many volunteers we have (one, two or three), and if I am at the home or not during this period (sometimes I have to travel due my work) we can split up tasks and organise the weekly schedule.
    You will be working around 5h per day, 5 days a week, with 2 days off. Once we agree your presence, we will discuss the details. A checklist will be handed to you with the main tasks and daily routine.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, Thai, German

  • Accommodation


    A private room with bathroom (shared bathroom if multiple volunteers) and a scooter.
    The house is spacious, filled with sun light and an amazing garden, full of fresh papaya fruit / tree. We also have washing machine for laundry.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    You will be provided a automatic motorbike / scooter for use, so you can go to the shelter (around 14 km away) and you can use it to go to Chiang Mai City center (around 20 km away) whenever you would like to.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours per day, 5-6 days per week

Host ref number: 645388512872