Join our family in protecting rural, environmentally friendly customs near Popayán, Colombia

Country

Colombia

Favourited 54 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    25/08/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a family of peasant origin, whose objective is the protection of the environment and rural customs.
    We lived 5 years ago in the outskirts of the city of Popayán, 30 minutes from the urban area, in our farm we have a small forest, vegetable crops, coffee, banana, yucca, cane among others. In this space, you can see a wide variety of birds, beautiful sunsets, volcanoes and on clear nights you can see the stars.

    Our project seeks to create spaces for the exchange of knowledge and experiences for the protection of the environment through practices such as: organic agriculture, permaculture, reforestation, care of water resources and art. At the same time, we seek to honor the memory of grandparents and uncles who during their lives, were dedicated to creating spaces of conviviality through traditional, artistic and environmentally sustainable practices.

    Most of the members of our family do not speak English, but this has not been an impediment to share with people from other countries because our goal is that together we can live a rewarding experience and mutual growth.

    about two years we have been inactive on the platform for travel reasons but again we are willing to this experience

    Somos una familia de origen campesino, cuyo objetivo es la protección del medio ambiente y las costumbres rurales.
    Vivimos hace 5 años en las afueras de la ciudad de Popayán, a 30 minutos del área urbana, en nuestra finca tenemos un pequeño bosque, cultivos de hortalizas, café, plátano, yuca, caña entre otros. En este espacio, se puede observar una gran variedad de aves, hermosas puestas de sol, volcanes y en noches claras puede ver las estrellas.

    Nuestro proyecto busca crear espacios para el intercambio de conocimientos y experiencias para la protección del medio ambiente a través de prácticas tales como: agricultura orgánica, permacultura, reforestación, cuidado de los recursos hídricos y el arte. Al mismo tiempo, buscamos honrar la memoria de los abuelos y tíos que Durante sus vidas, se dedicaron a crear espacios de buena convivencia a través de prácticas tradicionales, artísticas y ambientalmente sostenibles.

    La mayoría de los integrantes de nuestra familia no habla inglés, pero esto no ha sido impedimento para compartir con personas de otros paises ya que nuestro objetivo es que entre todos podamos vivir una experiencia gratificante y de crecimiento mutuo.

    alrededor de dos años hemos estado inactivos en la plataforma por motivos de viaje pero nuevamente estamos dispuestos a esta experiencia

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Help around the house

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    When a person knows a new place in fact it is an unparalleled experience. In our farm not only know a beautiful destination, it will also be an opportunity to relax the mind and spirit sharing with people of different knowledge and customs, in turn visitors will have the opportunity to contribute their experience and knowledge in the activities necessary to the realization of the family project.

  • Help

    Help

    We would like to see people who have knowledge in permaculture, who are willing to carry out agricultural and gardening activities.

    people who are creative, love nature and want to transmit their knowledge of English, French or another language are also welcome to our home.

  • Languages spoken

    Spanish: Fluent
    English: Beginner

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Our farm has a large house, which has a room available for up to four people, two bathrooms and availability of kitchen and utensils. The beds have their respective sheets, blankets and pillows.
    Visitors will have three meals a day if they wish or they can prepare their own meals.
    The house has wifi service

    As a suggestion to our volunteers, we recommend you bring your own personal hygiene items.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Our farm is located in a quiet area and friendly people, very close to a town where you can find basic foods such as eggs, vegetables, meat, canned, among others.
    The public transport service is available from 6am to 6pm. Likewise, UBER transport is available.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    es necesario que las personas sepan que estamos en una area rural, por lo cual hay dias que el internet puede ser decente o puede bajar su velocidad, contamos con wifi de 4 megas

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    la altura del porton de entrada de nuestra finca es de 2 metros ó 6.56 ft

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week



Host ref number: 233298141369