Passionate cook needed! plus help on our lovely biodyamic family farm near Bath, Somerset, UK

Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 129 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    9  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    15/01/2020

  • Badges

    Good Host
 
Join now to contact this host
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We live on our lovely biodyamic family farm in Somerset. The farm has been in the family for many generations and although it is quite small now (15 hectares) it is suitably diverse and therefore there are many tasks in all seasons! We have small numbers of cattle, sheep, pigs, chickens, ducks and a wonderful gentle-giant of a dog. We grow our own vegetables, fruit, salad and herbs and eat our own meat and eggs. We grow grain to feed our animals and only buy in the very minimum which is always organic. We have two children aged 15 and 11 who we now home educate and are finding this such an enriching experience. Over the last year I have come across Hand in Hand Parenting / Parenting by Connection which has been a game-changer in our home, so if you have experience in this area it would be so great to hear from you.

    My parents also live on the farm but in a separate dwelling and we all get on very well! We eat together maybe once a week but generally tend to respect each others private space. They are both retired but love taking our dog, Mason, for walks everyday.

    As each of you will come with your own set of skills, experience and interests it would be great to utilise these as best as possible and therefore we are asking for help in many different areas.

    There are projects for building, gardening, farming work (harvesting in the summer/autumn by hand with scythes), water harvesting, pond building, fencing, planting, website updating, and lots more..

    And as well as this, we are looking specifically for a workawayer who has experience with, and a HUGE passion for cooking using wonderful ingredients from our garden and farm.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Our farm is quite unique in that the methods that we have adopted to help heal the space and soil come from biodynamic principles (we are Demeter registered). We have a stone circle where gatherings take place, particularly for the summer and winter solstice and for the spring and autumnal equinox.

    We have a yurt-like dwelling on the land which is for holidaymakers, so it is really lovely to meet different families nearly every week of the year from all over the country and sometimes from further afield.

    Our children are learning Spanish and it would be great to expand on this by hosting workawayers from different countries, as well as helping with English language.

  • Help

    Help

    There are two options and a love for nature would be a great advantage for both:

    1. we are looking for somebody who is experienced and really passionate about cooking. We produce the most amazing fruits, salads, vegetables, herbs, eggs, meat and it would be great to have somebody who could use this produce (but not exclusively) to prepare lunch and dinner for the week. So over the 5 days planning and preparation would go into meals for the 7 days. We are pretty organised here so it probably mean menu planning together to start with and then the kitchen would be yours! Using your initiative would be great, coming up with ideas, being tidy and efficient would be a bonus too! I would anticipate
    Having somebody to help in this way would allow to me help on the farm more, focus more on the children and get some of those tasks completed that have been on my to-do list for a very long time!

    2. we would also really welcome somebody who would like to help out with more general jobs around the farm and garden. These tasks would vary widely but generally would all be manual and involve working outside: building, gardening, farming work (harvesting in the summer/autumn by hand with scythes), water harvesting, pond building, fencing, planting, website updating, and lots more..

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    english

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    1 x en suite bedroom with wardrobe & chest of drawers. shared space in lounge, kitchen/diner.
    1 x bedroom with use of shared bathroom which has bath with shower attachment. chest of drawers, and plenty of storage.
    we have wifi in the house which will reach your bedroom but we do keep it turned off as much as possible (overnight for example) but of course would be sensitive of your need to be connected!

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    we are 1 mile from the nearest bus stop which has frequent/regular services to many different places - Bath, Bristol, Wells, Frome, Glastonbury and many more places.
    the nearest train station is in Frome which has connections to London and the South Coast. There is also a train station in Bath which has many connections.

    Somerset has lots of places of interest to visit and there are lots of places to walk, cycle and you would be most welcome to borrow bicycles.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week






Host ref number: 229322916227