1 / 4

Join our family and help with gardening and art projects in Tremithousa, Cyprus

  • Cyprus
  • Favourited 13 times
  • Last activity: 26/01/2023

Availability

  2023 

 Min stay requested: 1 week or less

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    Hi, I am Eva and my partner's name is Chris. I am a permaculturist with little experience, speaking Russian, Greek and English. Chris is a lapidary artist working with local semi precious stones, he speaks Greek, English and some Spanish. We are unschooling family with kids, dogs, cats and other sorts of animals, living in the legendary part of Cyprus, close to Baths of Aphrodite and most spectacular beaches of the island. Kids living with us are 10 and 3 year old very active boys. Occasionally we are being visited by older kids who live in another town and then our house becomes crowded. We live on very big plot of land with many fruit trees, dragon fruit cacti, flowers, grapes. The ultimate goal for this land is to become sustainable forest food Garden. At the moment we offer a bed in the shared room/tent/caravan (where - depends on availability) and food in exchange for few hours of work (no more than 5 hrs a day) few days a week. The area we are living in is secluded and tranquil but in 10 min relaxed walk there is a botanical garden of Baths of Aphrodite and a camping site and a bus station with the bus going all the way to Latchi and Polis where shops, pharmacies and other advantages of civilization are located. In our area we have spectacular nature with beaches and many nature hiking trails in close proximity. Akamas Peninsula Nature Reserve is just "around the corner", connected to our land through Adonis Nature trail.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Language practice
    Teaching
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Babysitting and creative play
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Staying in mythical part of the island where Aphrodite and Adonis were having their best days we are able to show and tell legends of the area and overall the history of Cyprus. We can provide knowledge of local herbs and their benifits, stone crystals and how to work with them. We are also very interested to learn about other places of the world, cultures and new languages.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    We would welcome helping hands in many areas: gardening, clearing debris, building cob and wood structures, collecting herbs and distilling essential oils, helping with kids and animals, making art projects together, language and cultural exchange

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    Greek: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Russian: Fluent
    Spanish: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    A bed in the shared room of the prefabricated sandwich panel house. A tent. A caravan. Depends on availability. We will have shared meals two times a day, either cooked together or food will be provided to be cooked. Our diet is mainly vegan, with occasional fish and chicken. We also consume eggs.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are looking for people who are aware of fair exchange principle where Earth care and People care are combined into harmonical Fair share. People with children on unschooling exploration trip are especially very welcome. We would like to be doers of better environment together and after hours of well accomplished job organise celebration activities together.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    Any children, cat and other animal friendly pets

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 228769657551

Photos

Feedback

Help us with restoring our garden in beautiful Ayia Napa, Cyprus
Experience life at an eco village in the making near Choirokoitia, Cyprus