Join us for family life and cultural exchange in Canonica d'Adda, between Milano and Bergamo, Italy



Favourited 64 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Good Host

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

  • Description


    before entering Italy, please carefully check the current infoCOVID on the italian web site viaggiaresicuri.
    we do are interested in practicing foreign languages and sharing italian knowledge.
    please apply only if english, german, spanish or french is your native language.
    thank you!

    hello, I live in the countryside with my 13 year old ‘grumpy’ son Dodo (Edoardo) and our five birman cats. I am a cat breeder (the breed is Sacred Cat of Burma) so the number may vary if kittens are around. We have a garden and a little vegetable garden (in summer, we are not able to grow it in winter time), by the river Adda. We live in Canonica d'Adda, 30km est Milan where I work in mktg and sales (biotechnology field). Canonica is a small village but all facilities are there: pharmacy, supermarket, library, gym, restaurant, pizzeria and so on. Milan and Bergamo are reachable by public transportation, and Treviglio train station too. We like to cook, also veggie menue, to do outside activity like walking and cycling, we organize parties at home and often visit friends. My family lives nearby. Dodo is quite independent, he speaks basic english and french and correct italian, he now understands spanish too thanks to the workaway experience. My cats are very gentle and my boyfriend, who spends most of time with us, also speaks fluent english and understands spanish and french. Feel free to ask any question! Roberta & Dodo

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Animal Care
    Babysitting and creative play
    Help around the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    we can share our passion for italian food and culture, and teach you some italian of course, there are also italian classes for foreigners at walking distance october to may (last year the fee was just 10€, this year lessons may be delayed because of COVID). our house is filled with books (IT EN FR). we can teach cooking and cat ethology. we have been travelling quite a lot and we have a good knowledge of different cultures and approaches to daily life. please note that during summer time we normally do not spend much time at home, we may therefore not stay as many days together as in the different seasons of the year, we still offer accomodation but not meals when we are not at home in summer. school in italy is closed mid june to mid sept.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help


    We need help with daily activities, meals for my son when I am not home, taking care of cats and cleaning/reordering the house like a family member. you may do gardening too in spring or summer if you like to relax outside.
    It is very important for us that our guests can independently manage and respect the house, be eco-friendly (no useless waste of water, light, paper, food etc) and be very careful with the cats as they are not allowed outside.
    In order to avoid communication issues, please apply only if you are fluent in English, French or Spanish.
    Please note that my son is a teen, in full bloom, it is a challenge to manage him and have him his tasks done at times, so sometimes the "patience of Job" is needed. He is very creative, active, independent, but he dislikes rules.
    We are willing to teach italian, but it is important for our son to learn other languages, so when he is at home we prefer not to speak full time italian with our guests.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Italian: Fluent
    German: Beginner
    Spanish: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    we do are interested in practicing foreign languages and sharing italian knowledge. please apply only if english, german, spanish or french is your native language. thank you!

  • Accommodation


    private room and almost private bathroom (we may ask to use the shower, there is a second one in another bathroom though), kitchen and living room shared with us.
    the house is on three floors plus garden (basement n two upper floors).
    wifi, smart tv (we do not watch tv but it is there).
    Because of COVID, we currently test, at our charge, all incoming visitors.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    there are several activities ongoing in the villages on the Adda river or you can move to Milan, Bergamo or even farther towns you may reach by train.
    the area is very interesting for historical and natural reasons (Crespi and Venetian walls of bergamo are Unesco site, Leonardo sites, early '900 power plants, ...). there are many paths for walking, running or cycling along the river nearby.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    when I am not travelling for my job, I mainly work from home. I just need to go to the office in Milan for meetings once or twice a week. Our wifi is suitable for any kind of need (webinars, meetings, big file downloads). It can be cabled too. There is one desk in the guest room with pc chair and other free tables around the house or in the gardern, many plugs around and the environment is very quiet. In the village where we live there is a post office, copistery shop (but I have plenty at home) and pc repair. A scanner, printer (but please take care of the ink if you plan to print frequently), headphones, loudspeakers available too.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    around 3 hours a day, 5 days a week. Cats should be taken care of off duty too, if we are not at home.

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (4.8)

Host ref number: 227678353571