Learn about Hempcrete construction with us in Castlemaine, Australia

Country

Australia

Favourited 7 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    10/11/2021

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a communal household of all ages living in central Castlemaine. Cam and Natalie both in their 50s. Mia and Tali are young people that are surrounded by friends coming and going. We have friends of all ages that come and stay, shared meals and games and political discussions. Our place is surrounded by the bush and walking distance to the train station, cafes and town. We are situated on a hill and hence have great views. We are living a sustainable lifestyle and are politically active in the environment movement and first Nations justice. We have projects around our house that need extra hands including the garden, chickens, and improving the biodiversity of the bush we are stewarding. We have a resident echidna (Yulawil) and kangaroos. We are building a small Hempcrete hut and would love a hand in its construction. We have fitted out a shipping container for accomodation with spectacular views.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are environmental and First Nations justice activists. We are very active in our community which is alive with music, art, and environmental action. There is deep listening and learning taking place here on how to be connected to Dja Dja Wurrung Country.

  • Help

    Help

    We are planning to build a studio with Hempcrete and are looking for people that would be interested in learning about building and Hempcrete and could be committed for 4-6 weeks.
    We love people with energy for the garden and bush regeneration.
    There is daily chicken, duck and dog care.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have three accomodation options: A single and a double room in the house. Also a fitted out shipping container that sleeps 2-3 with a great view.
    Shared kitchen, bath, lounge etc.
    Communal food. The expectation is the guests would equally contribute to food shopping and cooking. We are mostly vegetarian.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Castlemaine is a vibrant town with live music and art. Great for mountain biking, bush walking, swimming. We have two weekly and monthly market with much local and organic produce. We are constantly trying to improve our sustainability.
    We love both vibrant social and quiet time.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    We have the internet and have been mostly working from home

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    we have one car/van space for parking

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    dogs only and will need to be friendly to our dog and chickens

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 4 days a week


Host ref number: 154171993423