Find us in BC's interior and experience hobby farm living with a young family in Canada

Country

Canada

updated  

Favourited 122 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    15  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    07/08/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a friendly and hard-working young married couple living on a beautiful 5.5 acre hobby farm minutes from beautiful Kamloops, BC. And as of August 28th 2019 our beautiful baby girl Isla has made our family complete. Our property has a creek running through it that we can swim in the summer and is truly a Hidden Gem with lots of greenery and trees in the middle of a semi-arid desert.

    Our hobby farm includes horses, chickens, dogs and cats. We are hoping to expand to have more chickens, ducks and eventually pigs as we work on sustainable living. We also have a large shop to do mechanical work.

    Our property backs onto limitless Crown Land, there is lots of horseback riding, dirtbiking/quadding, camping, hiking and fishing that we enjoy. We are open and welcoming and enjoy sharing duties and pulling together as a team. We appreciate getting a lot of things done in a day. We love eating, cooking and spending time with friends and family.

    We share sit-down dinners together where we can catch up on our day. We make homemade meals from scratch and enjoy whole foods with the occasional treat. The other meals are made on your own.

    We love learning about other cultures and sharing our experience. We love teaching and learning and being around others that can offer the same!

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Some of the benefits of staying with us is you will learn to cook Canadian meals and see how we manage a small farm.

    There is also the opportunity to learn basic mechanics and learn about horses and how to take care of them and even train them. We have an interesting life that revolves around doing what makes us happy while building a life that is sustainable and fun and we love sharing that with others who are interested.

    Sean speaks English and Brigitte speaks English and French, we don't focus on teaching English as we need Workawayers that have a good handle on speaking and understanding English as there isn't much room for error due to miscommunication when being around our baby and our animals.

  • Help

    Help

    We are looking for someone to help care for our baby girl during the busy riding season in 2020 which lasts from April till November. Child minding, housekeeping and cooking are important assets along with yard help and there will always be help welcome on the farm if you want to learn and spend time with animals , especially the horses.

    There is also some yard maintenance like cutting grass and weeding and help with new projects like building raised garden beds, building a hay shed etc

    Horse experience would be great to help with feeding, cleaning, grooming and even riding opportunities, of course we are more than happy to teach the basics.

    The schedules will be flexible as we sometimes require help during day time, evenings and weekends. Some of the tasks are done together as a team, other times you will be on your own.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will have your own separate spacious sleeping area with living room.

    There is internet, cable TV and landline in the house. There is limited cell phone reception and limited internet. We have a washer & dryer for clothes and a dishwasher.

    We keep the kitchen in the house stocked with food to make your own food, we often share dinners which are usually made and eaten together to catch up on our day. You will be responsible for most of your breakfast and lunches and weekends are usually spontaneous for meals. We encourage you to cook ethnic meals for us to try! You can give us a list of what you would like from the grocery store or come shop with us.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There is no public transit available to get to our property, however you can get dropped off in town (Kamloops) for a few hours during the week day and driven back with our own work schedules.

    There is lots to do around Kamloops on your time off, you can hang out with us, go hiking, camping, skiing/snowboarding, enjoy craft breweries, wineries, fishing, boating, shopping, visit parks, biking, golfing, Wildlife Park, casino etc.

    We enjoy being around others who understand how much we appreciate getting all the chores done before relaxing or enjoying some time off. We love listening to music while we work and staying positive!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (4.8)











Host ref number: 223578422342