Renovating old settlement in Krasnopol, Poland and be surrounded by fields, forests and lakes.

Country

Poland

Favourited 22 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    06/10/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    85.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 5 days

Contact Register
  2019 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Krasnopol is a village (previously was a town) 30km from the border with Lithuania. The house we are staying in is located in the far end of the village (around 2km walk to the shops) and surrounded by fields, forrests and lakes.

    The settlement consists of an old wooden house, old barn and previously stables which is being now renovated. It belongs to Józek, a carpenter and musician, who lives in his house in Krasnopol and dreams of making this place suitable for organising small music festivals, concerts and variety of workshops, including woodcraft for ladies.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Language practice
    Art project

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will have opportunity to learn a lot from Józek about carpentry and gain variety of renovating skills, including electricity, hydraulics, isolating and using variety of tools.
    There is a small vegetable garden (Ada's project) where you can contribute your help too!
    You will taste the social side of living in Suwalszczyzna, the long evenings on the lake side next to the fireplace in amazing surroundings.

  • Help

    Help

    Most help needed here includes building and maintaining works, as the place is being renovated now and transformed into a suitable space for hosting people in summer season and providing all necessary conditions during small festivals and workshops.
    Some of the tasks can include moving the lawn, burning old hay, cleaning the yard or small house maintaining jobs. We are going to work also on interior of the stables aka party and workshops space (finishing walls, bathrooms, making small kitchen and sleeping space). You don't need previous experience, although it would be great if you got some handy skills already. Just a second pair of hands and some readiness is already more than enough!

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    polish, english

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You can stay in the separate room in "the stables" which is being renovated now, bring your own tent (lots of space outside) or caravan if you wish! There is also a spare room in the house, but now it serves mainly as a storage room. Can be used though in case of an emergency.

    Ada can cook dinners, you will have supplies provided to make your own breakfast and supper. We have lot of fruits, herbs and vegetables from our own garden in the season.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Place is located in beautifull surroundings of lakes, hills and forrest. Public transport goes as far as to Krasnopol (2km from our place), but we can give you a lift with his car if necessary. Your free time activities can include discovering cycling or rollerscating routes, kayaking, sailing, swimming, looking at cows, chasing cranes, dears or foxes, picking wild fruits (lots of raspberries, black berries, wild apples and plums in the season) or whatever you imagine! Wigierski National Park is around 10km away from here, and more forests are even closer.
    Border with Lithuania is just behind the corner if you feel like having a daily trip abroad, two nearest towns (Suwalki and Sejny) offer variety of cultural events such as art exhibitions, concerts, sport events or visiting the local shopping center.
    We are slowly starting to organise our own events as well, so you might have a chance to participate also in one of them! You are also more than welcome to use our stage or space, if you want to have organised some event to share your skills or tallent!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

BIke trips on the nearby fields and forrests.
Front of our house
2018, pic from renovated Stables
Adrianna's own beans from the garden!
2017, bathing outside (currently unaviaible, outside bath started leaking. But there is inside one, maybe even better;)
Shrooms and Mushrooms from the nearby forrests.
Carving projects
Nearby lake
Grass cutting in progress!
Playing music together
Inside of the renovated Stables, there will be a room for Workawayers there, small kitchen and toilets.
Wooden house where Adrianna and Tatu stay over summer, there is a spare room in here where Workawayers can stay too.
Józek, the owner of the place, with his hand made drum.
Józek bringing wood from his forrest for renovating the Stable.

Host ref number: 219131787824