Share our family life and help us prepare for a personal fitness challenge in New York, USA

Country

United States

Favourited 80 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    07/07/2020

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are looking for an upbeat hype person to help train us for a personal fitness challenge in June. We live on Long Island, New York in a beautiful waterfront community. We are a family of 5, but only 3 living at home at this time. Our 16 year old daughter still remains living at home. Our oldest is living in Atlanta and our son is in college in Lake Tahoe. My husband Dennis has an office in the city and I am an Occupation Therapist. I work part time. We would love to open our home to someone who will train us and help keep us motivated. You would have your own room and shared bathroom with our daughter. You would have to provide some of your own meals. We do have family dinner together approximately 4 days per week that you are most certainly welcome to join. Breakfast and lunch and the other dinners you would have to pay for and manage on your own. Your welcome to using the kitchen at anytime. While we are only in need of someone for 2-3 hours per day, the rest of the day is yours to do as you wish. We are an hour train ride from New York City. If you arrive by plane, we recommend you fly into JFK. There is public transportation from there to get you to us.

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We live in a beautiful area of Long Island, NY. We are a 1 hour train ride from NYC. We live on the water, Northport Bay, and the sunrise and sunsets are magnificent. We have a family atmosphere to share with you. And many experiences can be had learning about Long Island and NYC. We can help you with your English if needed. And we would love to learn a second language if you speak one.

  • Help

    Help

    My husband and I have entered an endurance challenge. It is in June and we are seeking a personal trainer/coach to hold us accountable and keep us motivated to train for this event. Ideally we need someone with the knowledge, understanding to train us safely, create a plan and help us to improve our endurance and strength.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will have your own bedroom. It is a full size bed. With a desk and small closet. This is my sons room, who is away at college. It is small and cozy. You will share a hallway bathroom with my daughter.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    During your time off you can go for bike rides or walks. You can explore our quaint and historical village which is extremely safe. And you can hop the train and head to NYC to explore all of its magnificent sights. We have the LIRR (Long Island Rail Road) for heading into NYC. We do have local busses, but I haven't ridden one since I was a kid. You have access to Uber as well.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    2 - 3 hours per day - 5 days per week

The kids! Zac, Amanda and Lexi. Only Lexi is home. Le is in 11th grade. Amanda now lives in Atlanta and Zac is in college in Lake Tahoe.
Dennis and Mary - Hosts- Mom and Dad
This is the bathroom you will share with my daughter.
Enjoying our jet ski out back.
A fabulous sunset out on our bay.
Our living room.
We call this the pit. Its a cozy nook to curl and hang out in.
Our kitchen table.
Sunset evenings in the water.
The view of the back of the house.
Enjoying paddle boarding.
Host ref number: 218834832418