Help me on my family farm and experience real Turkish culture in Bergama, Turkey

Country

Turkey

Favourited 2 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    29/09/2021

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I am retired from Turkish Air Force. After I retired, I built my dream farm. but since my wife doesn't like the farm life, I do the work on the farm alone. I have two sons, 11 years old and seven years old. I want them to learn English. Since I do not have the opportunity to travel abroad, I would like to host a family for a while in my own country, on my farm. I speak beginner level English and intermediate level Greek. My farm is located on a fertile land, just opposite the village of Sindel, 600 meters north of the Bakırçay river, 5 km south of the Bergama district of İzmir province. It is open all around and has clean air. Sunrise and sunset are clearly cool as well. It can be cultivated in four seasons. Currently, 200 walnut trees, more than a hundred miscellaneous fruit trees, tomato pepper eggplant squash cucumber bean red kidney bean corn onion garlic are planted. And I do all this with organic farming methods, I do not use chemicals at all. Its area is 11,000 square meters. It is surrounded by wire mesh and secured with continuous cameras. There is a 24 m² bungalow house in my farm, consisting of a bedroom and an open kitchen and living room. It is made entirely of wood. Electricity, water, internet, TV, refrigerator, stove, oven, vacuum cleaner, one double bed, one triple bed and one double sofa are available. There are also one cat and nearly 40 chickens in the farm. Daily feeding and care of animals, collecting eggs from the nests, hoeing the tree bottoms from weeds, watering the plants through the drip irrigation system.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Gardening
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You can shop at the public market on Mondays, Wednesdays and Saturdays. You can cook and taste some local delicacies yourself. You can eat the famous cheese of Bergama, a meal called "Crying", and tour the Kozak plateau covered with stone pines. You can swim in the seaside town of Dikili, which is 30 km away from Bergama, and Ayvalık beach, which is 60 km away. If you want, you can go fishing and join daily boat tours.

  • Help

    Help

    daily activities; organization of the house, garden and environmental cleaning care of animals, collecting eggs, weed control ç, cooking home meals.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    Turkish: Fluent
    Greek: Intermediate
    English: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    Turkish, greek, deutsche (beginner)

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Your accommodation is outside the city. There is no public transportation. The nearest market is 1.5 km away. There is no air condition, dishwasher or washing machine. properler available. Private parking is available for your personal vehicle or caravan.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    You can visit the touristic places of our region (such as the Bergama museum, Asklepion, Zeus Temple, Allianoi ancient city), take a walk in the company of bird sounds around the farm in the natural environment and take a stroll along the Bakırçay river.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    Yes

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    Yes

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 216472383458