Help with painting and decorating needed in lovely rural location in Suffolk, UK

Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 25 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    06/09/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    93.6 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 23 days

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    IDavid and I have been married for 25 years and have lived in our house for 19 years. We have three children, one of whom lives in London and the other two are at university. Our house is in need of redecoration and so we are looking for help with the painting both inside and some of the windows outside. If time there is always gardening to do!

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We live in the beautiful Suffolk countryside, 8 miles outside Bury St Edmunds. There is a good train service to Cambridge and London (1hr and 20 mins). The coast is about an hour by car. There are many beautiful historic villages nearby such as Lavenham. You can borrow our bikes and explore. I am happy to drop you off at the station. Just to let you know we have two small dogs who are friendly. My two boys will be at home from university. We have a tennis court and rackets and balls. There is a pub and shop in the village. Bury St Edmunds is a thriving market town with lots of shops, bars, restaurants, train station and two cinemas.

  • Help

    Help

    I need some painting and decorating both inside and outside the house. Plumbing skills would be a bonus but not essential. Plastering skills again a bonus but not essential. You need to be a competent painter

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English and some french

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will have a double room with own bathroom in a separate part of the house so you will have some privacy. . There is a separate kitchen area with microwave and kettle and toaster, You can use the oven in our kitchen. I can either provide you with food and meals or I can give you money towards food, whichever you would prefer.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Suffolk is a very unspoilt county so there is lots to explore. Bury St Edmunds is an historic town and Cambridge is very easily accessible for a day trip. Felixstowe is also accessible if you want a day on the beach. London takes 1 hr 20 mins by train from Stowmarket. There are lots of very pretty villages surrounding us, perfect to explore by bike. The use of a car may be possible depending on your driving experience and cost of insurance.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 215669597421