Enjoy a creative family life in the rainforest of Far North Queensland, Australia

Country

Australia

Favourited 80 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    18/07/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    75.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

 
  2021 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are Caitlin and Tess and our six-year-old daughter Mira. We live in the rainforest just outside Kuranda village, close to Cairns, in Far North Queensland, Australia. It's a beautiful property with access to the Barron River, shared with lovely neighbours. We enjoy a simple life with lots of outdoor and creative time. We like to have fires, cook, dance, do yoga and qi gong, paint and play outside - even have our showers outside! Mira is homeschooling so we spend a lot of time on play, nature and creative-based learning with her. We also like to go camping, kayaking, hiking and to community events. Each week we join the local homeschool group for activities in a community hall or somewhere in nature.

    Kuranda is located on the Atherton Tablelands, a highland region near Cairns. It's a tranquil area surrounded by wonderful natural attractions to see, including waterfalls, crater lakes, rainforest and bush hiking trails, and interesting wildlife. There are also many cultural events and workshops in the nearby country towns, such as concerts, festivals, and dance, theatre, gardening, and art workshops. We are also just 15 minutes from Cairns and the coast, where the rainforest meets the sea, and the Great Barrier Reef, with lots of tourist attractions. We also have a rare treat - a cassowary father and his chick come through our garden most days!!

    As well as homeschooling Mira, we have our own business called Lila. We offer workshops and courses in Embodied Expression and Embodied Connection. We teach a weekly adult class, monthly sensual delight connection events and monthly open house performance evenings. We try to make embodiment, expression, creativity and connection part of our daily lives. If you're interested in these themes, this is a fantastic opportunity as you'll be able to take part in some of our workshops while you're here.

    Both Tess and I are qualified English language teachers with over ten years experience each. We taught Business and General English in Germany and other countries in Europe for a long time. The whole family is interested in foreign languages and would love some more opportunity to learn and practice.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Gardening
    Babysitting and creative play
    Help around the house

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    First of all we offer you a cultural exchange and to be part of our little family and community here in Australia for a while. We are openhearted, connective and easy-going. You could enjoy the peaceful beauty of our property, and meet other interesting people. You get to see how a homeschooling family lives and learns.

    If you are learning English, you will be lucky to stay with us, both qualified English language teachers! We have worked for many years with learners of all different ages and levels from all over the world. We are good at explaining the mysteries of English and "fixing" language problems.

    If you love being in nature, this place is a dream. Right in the beautiful rainforest with access to the Barron River. You can just enjoy the peace here, or take nearby walks and go kayaking in the river here on our doorstep. We would also love to show you around our beautiful area for walks, swims, picnics and adventures in the local way at our nearby lakes, rivers, beaches and waterfalls. The Great Barrier Reef is right there if you would like to experience diving.

    If you are also passionate about creative expression, embodied connection and anything that helps you get closer to your authentic self and soul, you will love being able to experience our workshops and events.

  • Help

    Help

    We would mostly like help with babysitting/childcare. We like to spend a lot of time with Mira ourselves, but we also like to have some time to ourselves and we need some time for workshop planning and marketing for our business. Hopefully this will be fun for you. Mira is a joy to spend time with and there is plenty to do with her here at our place. She loves spending her time dancing, painting, drawing, imaginative play, board games, lego, baking, playing on the trampoline and playing outside, learning languages and learning about new things online.

    We would love someone who could speak a foreign language with Mira, and teach her through chatting and games. She is particularly interested in French and German at the moment. And so are we!

    Some help with housework and gardening would also be involved. This is flexible. It could sometimes be just a little, or if you would like to be busy, there is always plenty to do. We are slowly getting our vegetable garden going and could do with help bringing soil from the forest for the garden beds. Help with cleaning up after meal times will also be appreciated.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    German: Intermediate

    This host offers a language exchange
    We are interested in learning German, French and Spanish in our home. My partner and I are also qualified English teachers and are happy to help workers learn and practise their English.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You would have your own bedroom in our house, and share our bathroom. The bedroom has a single bed, cupboard, and some shelves. The house is quite small and cosy, but there is plenty of room outside and on the property if you would like time and space alone. You would share our healthy food at mealtimes with us, and we would love it if you would like to contribute some cooking and show us some meals from your country. We have internet access, a DVD player, but no TV.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Have a look online at Cairns, Kuranda and the Atherton Tablelands and see all the natural beauty the area has to offer. There is not a lot of public transport here but we are happy to drive you to particular places you'd like to see.
    This position would best suit a lover of nature and children who would like to have a cultural and language exchange.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    We work from home and are happy to host workawayers who work online in their spare time on their own projects. We have a good wifi connection and workawayers will be provided with a quiet space and desk if needed.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    We have a lovely backyard surrounded by rainforest where workawayers can park their van or vehicle. You'll be visited by paddymelons (small forest wallabies) and cassowaries! The ground is flat and the space is quiet.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 214791374462