Help to renovate a local pub and bring it back to its former glory in picturesque Richmond, North Yorkshire, UK

Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 724 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    15  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    26/11/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    63.6 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 17 days

  • paid opportunity

    Host offers payment

  • Badges

    Super Host
 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a family living in a farmhouse in a beautiful part of North Yorkshire, close to the historic towns of Richmond and Barnard Castle. We have four children, ranging in age from 34 to 21. The older ones are working and the youngest is at university. We are a close family, so they are often home and we eat together in the evenings, which you are welcome to join. We also have three dogs, nine chickens and a lot of horses, so it helps if you love animals!

    We have very recently taken on a local pub and are in the process of bringing it back to its former glory. We would need help with this to get it up and running again - this is mainly DIY at the moment so skilled labour needed. In addition to this there are also odd jobs in the house and garden. Good accommodation, good meals and payment in line with UK national minimum wage for help with the pub.

    Richmond (North Yorkshire) is the nearest town with lots of quirky shops and restaurants. An old medieval castle, with cobbled streets and lots to explore.

    Travellers would learn about rural life in Yorkshire and the surrounding area, which includes lots of historical sites.

    If you were coming we would expect you to self isolate for the first few days or alternatively provide a negative lateral flow result. This is perfectly possible as the accommodation is totally separate from our house.

    You will need to send proof you are allowed to work in the UK.
    Since we left the EU, you will now need the correct visas.
    Adhere to covid tier restrictions and travel conditions.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Meeting an interesting and diverse family. Living in a lovely part of the world. Being part of a project to which they can contribute.

  • Host offers payment in line with the minimum wage

    Host offers payment in line with the minimum wage

    This host offers accommodation and payment.

    Host has indicated that they will pay at least the minimum hourly wage of their country for each hour worked and that accommodation will also be provided. They are asking for help with a business or business activity. Contact the host directly via the site messenger for more information and details about the wage provided. Any arrangements should be agreed in advance with your host.

  • Help

    Help

    Ideally we are looking for someone to help with getting our pub up and running so there are a lot of DIY projects there.

    As well as your own separate accommodation and food we also offer payment for help with the pub.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Beginner

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Accommodation would be provided in a self contained flat with a double bed and shower room.
    We have internet access, which anyone is welcome to use.
    Our house is situated in a beautiful location at the top of a hill with wonderful views and a lovely garden with lots of places to walk.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There's a shop and tea room in the local village nearby, within walking distance. We'll help with local transport as much as we can to take you to the nearest town or train station. Wonderful sightseeing nearby, including Raby Castle, Barnard Castle, Bowes Museum, all very local. York, Durham and Newcastle are only half an hour away on the train from Darlington. There is also a tennis court on the farm, which anyone is welcome to use during their stay.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    We have various places on the farm that a camper van can be parked. We can offer shower facilities and electrical hook up if needed.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours, 5 days per week with two days off each week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (4.9)

Communication: (5.0)











Host ref number: 718217121938