Stay and help me with my boats, close to Amsterdam in small, but lively Weesp, The Netherlands

Country

Netherlands

Favourited 104 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    28/11/2021

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi guys!

    I am Steven! Happy father of two beautiful daughters, now 11 & 13 year old. They live with me 50%. We live in Weesp, a small, but lively town just outside Amsterdam, just 10 minutes away. My girlfriend is called Heike. She lives in her house in the next village together (50%) with her two daughters. We are together as much as possible. LAT.

    I have a few chickens, sometimes a dog, most of the time a lot of ducks. Those ducks swim and live in the water were my house(-boat) is floating in. Talking about boats... I have a lot of them and they all need to bee maintained. Not difficult, but really time consuming.

    I have two traditional Dutch sailing boats (steel barges, 9 meter, flat bottom). Different stages. One is Holliday ready and needs just regular maintenance, the other one needs serious work. I also own a party-tugboat built in 1923 (Also 9 meter). And my houseboat (21 X 6 m) is made of concrete with a wooden bungalow on top. That also could use a new paint. And... I also have a smaller fibreglass gaff-riged daysailer. That one is yours to enjoy if you know how. If not my 13 year old can teach you ;-)

    During Corona traveling is a lot more difficult. And I do not have the confidence that normal life will come back soon. So time to oped up and open minded. I try to boost 'normal' life by giving travellers a change to stay on a boat. Time to do more maintenance.

    You are invited to give me a hand!

    But.... please read this: Stictly NON-vegans, NON-vegi's and NON-difficult eaters. Also having allergies is a real pity for you.... If you want to talk about conspiracy therapy/theory, it may be better to seek for a host who is interested... And no, I am not interested in drugs. and NO you are NOT allowed to bring/use it to/around my house. I try to raise a few kids here...

    So now you know ;-)

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will be living in your own sailing boat. Right in the middle of nature, yet sooo close to Amsterdam. just a 10 train-minutes ride away. You will learn to sail! You will learn the Dutch humor.... very special...

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    Sailing boats: Sanding, varnishing, painting, some woodwork. Rubber in one of the teak deck needs attention. Getting old rubber out, cleaning, taping and new rubber in.

    Tugboat: outside rust removing, grinding, welding, painting. Would be really helpful if you know how to use a welding device. Rough work! I dare you!

    Houseboat: Sanding, woodwork, painting. High pressure cleaning, help picking eggs. Maybe clean the chicken run if you feel like it. Help cooking. Cook!

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Dutch: Fluent
    German: Intermediate
    French: Beginner

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will be living in one of the sailingboats parked next to the houseboat. You have your own toilet and a small kitchen. Clear and fresh water out of the tab. The shower and a normal toilet is in the houseboat, right behind the front door, just 3 meters away from the door of the sailingboat. This is your private bathroom right behind the front door. We have our own bathroom.

    Breakfast is not provided. You are most welcome to join the table for lunch and dinner on the days you are working. That is half of the time. We will decide together when the days will be when you are working. The other 50% you will have to buy and cook your own lunch and diner. Working days start at 9:30 and stop between 17:00-18:00h. Depending on the job you are working on, the weather, your eagerness to get things done...

    We (me and Heike) live 4 lives every 14 days:
    - 4 days were we both have NO kids. (Usually we are in Weesp)
    - 2 days were only Heike has her kids (we live in her house)
    - 4 days were we both have our kids. (Weesp and next village)
    - 2 days where only I have my kids, (We live in Weesp)

    Stictly NON-vegans, NON-vegi's and NON-difficult eaters. Also having allergies is a real pity for you.... If you want to talk about conspiracy therapy/theory, it may be better to seek for a host who is interested...

    So you know ;-)

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    What you can do with your time off? Go sailing, swimming, canoeing (I've got two), surfing, walking, biking. Did I mention sailing already? Or go to Amsterdam. But please leave the drugs were they belong; in Amsterdam. But feel free to bring drinks! Lots of them... Especially single malt Scotch... the peaty ones.

    Let's say; Lagavulin 16 YO? Nah... too expensive....

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    Wifi range extenders. 220 V in your boat.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 Hours a day. 3-5 days a week



Host ref number: 213967742238