Help us learn French on our small vineyard in the wine region of Bordeaux, France

Country

France

Favourited 23 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    11/11/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    60

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello - we are Nikky and David. We moved to France to our small vineyard in the Bordeaux region of France 4 years ago. Having worked hard to renovate the house and vineyard we now want to improve our French and integrate fully into our community. We would love to have a workaway (or a couple) to help us in an immersion type setting. In return we can help you with your English.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We would like to learn French in an home immersion type exchange. In return we would offer to teach you English in a similar way. Integrating into the culture of France is dependant on us being able to communicate with our neighbours and to be able to make new friends. We have many English speaking friends and would be happy to get together with them so you can practice your English. As we have a working vineyard we would be happy to show you how we work in the vines and, depending on the time of year, how we make the wine in our winery on the property. You would not be expected to work outside in the vines but if you want to accompany us when we are and would like to have a go then of course you can! Even in the winter the vines are a fascinating place to be.

  • Help

    Help

    We are looking for a native French speaking person or couple who are happy to help us learn French and who might be interested in learning English. This would be the only work that we would expect of our workaway(s) and we would like to only speak French for at least a week of your stay. This would include taking shopping and sight seeing trips together to practice what you have taught us and watching French films and chatting in French around the fire in the evening. You do not need to be a teacher - just to be patient with us and to talk your native language! We both attend French lessons and we can communicate a little in French. In return we would be happy to only speak English for the rest of your stay to help you with your English. We would like our guest(s) to become part of the family and help with the usual jobs around the house, cooking, washing the dishes etc would be part of that.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Beginner

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will have a newly renovated double room with exclusive use of a bathroom. The bedroom has a king sized bed, a TV, Wi-Fi and chests of drawers. The rest of the house is shared with us. We have renovated the whole house in the last 4 years. Please see the photos to get a better idea of the house and the bedroom you would be using. We will share cooking and eating meals together. We have fairly simple tastes and tend to have a simple breakfast and lunch and cook properly for dinner. We enjoy all types of food and would welcome some new recipes and tastes. There is a supermarket 3kms away and we are happy to get in any ingredients/ foods that you like. We have Netflix and enjoy watching films and boxsets.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are very rural and having a vehicle would be a real advantage, although we would be happy to take you to visit some local places and markets and take you to and collect you from the train station (which runs to Bordeaux, Bergerac, St Emillion and Sarlat. This is not a area for night life - unless you enjoy looking at the stars! But we have an abundance of peace and quiet and often deer and wild boar will wander by.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week



Host ref number: 212962223975