English & French speaking family living in the beautiful Livradois Forez national park, France!



Favourited 44 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

  • Description


    We are an English speaking family living in the beautiful Puy De Dome, France. We are currently updating a 1930's house back into a family home and creating a B&B on one floor of the house. We have 4 children, a boy aged 8 and three girls aged 10, 11 and 14. It's a big friendly house with amazing mountain and forest views. We also have an enormous garden that we are trying to tame, update the ancient tree house, old swimming pool and establish a kitchen garden. We love to cook and make everything ourselves from wild yeast bread to homemade butter and cakes with homemade clotted cream. Aside from the B&B, we write and broadcast about food, drink and family travel.

    Nous sommes une famille anglophone vivant dans le magnifique Puy De Dôme, France. Nous sommes en train de restaurer une maison des années 1930 et de créer une chambre d'hôte à un étage de la maison. Nous avons 4 enfants, un garçon de 7 et 3 filles de 9, 11 et 14 ans. C'est une grande maison conviviale avec des vues incroyables sur la montagne et la forêt. Nous avons également un énorme jardin que nous essayons de maintenir, mettre à jour l'ancienne cabane dans les arbres, l'ancienne piscine et établir un potager. Nous aimons cuisiner et faire tout nous-mêmes - du pain de levure sauvage, du beurre fait maison et des gâteaux britanniques. En dehors de la chambre d'hôte, nous écrivons sur la nourriture, les boissons et les voyages en famille.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    General Maintenance
    Help with Eco project
    Language practice
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Being an English speaking household, you would definitely be immersed in English language! The children would help anyone improve their English. I teach an advanced English class in the village so if you wanted actual formal lessons, one to one, I would be more than happy. I have also coached a student in English Literature for the BAC and assisted others with business English. We can also teach you to bake, make cheese, cider and other delicacies of both France and Britain.

    Être un ménage parlant anglais, vous seriez certainement immergé dans la langue anglaise! Les enfants aideront toute personne à améliorer son anglais. J'enseigne un cours d'anglais avancé dans le village, donc si vous voulez des leçons formelles, un à un, ce n'est pas un problème. J'ai également entraîné un étudiant en littérature anglaise pour le BAC et aidé d'autres personnes en anglais des affaires. Nous pouvons également vous apprendre à cuisiner, faire du fromage, du cidre et d'autres délices de la France et de la Grande-Bretagne.

  • Help


    Firstly, we are looking for fluent French speakers that would help us improve our French. We don't need a teacher or formal lessons as such just someone who is happy to play with the children (in French!) help with homework, general day to day communication skills and assist with any creative educational projects we dream up along the way! All the children attend the village school but as we are an English speaking household it is hard to maintain our language skills on the long breaks from school. We could also do with help with our B&B website and social media in French - whilst my written French is much better than my spoken, sometimes things don't quite translate as I expect them too!

    We would also be happy to host those with other languages and cultures. Two of my children are currently studying Spanish and the other two want to learn Japanese....

    There is lots to do around the house and garden, but we try to do most projects as a family. Everyone helps, whether it is designing the wallpaper, stencilling the floor or planting pumpkins, we try to make the 'work' fun (whilst being educational). It might take a while and not be perfect, but we all end up with the satisfaction of having 'done it ourselves'!!

    We are also looking for those with social media, film-making and pod casting experience that could help the family with a online project - however, this would need to be in English!!

    We all keep the house tidy but the offer to help with the washing up never goes amiss!!

    In late summer and early autumn we have a lot of produce to pick from the garden, all of which we turn into jams, syrups and other preserves for the winter. Help with gathering, cooking and bottling is always welcome.

    Nous recherchons des francophones qui nous aident à améliorer notre français. Nous n'avons pas besoin d'un enseignant ou de leçons, juste quelqu'un qui est heureux de jouer avec les enfants (en français!) Aider avec les devoirs, les compétences de communication au jour le jour et aider à tous les projets éducatifs créatifs que nous rêvons! Tous les enfants fréquentent l'école du village mais comme nous sommes un ménage anglophone, il est difficile de maintenir nos compétences linguistiques sur les longues pauses de l'école. Nous pourrions aussi faire de l'aide avec notre site web et les médias sociaux pour la chambre d'hôte - alors que mon français écrit est meilleur que mon parlé, parfois les choses ne se traduisent pas tout à fait comme je les attendais aussi!

    Il y a beaucoup à faire autour de la maison et du jardin, mais nous essayons de faire la plupart des projets en famille. Tout le monde y contribue, qu'il s'agisse de la conception du papier peint, du mobilier recyclé ou de la plantation de citrouilles, nous essayons de rendre le «travail» amusant (tout en étant éducatif). Cela peut prendre du temps et ne pas être parfait, mais nous finissons tous avec la satisfaction d'avoir «fait nous-mêmes» !!

    Nous gardons tous la maison bien rangé et l'offre d'aider à la vaisselle est bonne.

    À la fin de l'été et au début de l'automne, nous avons beaucoup de produits du jardin, que nous transformons en confitures, sirops et autres conserves pour l'hiver. Aide à la collecte des fruits, la préparation et la mise en bouteille est toujours bon.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English and basic French

  • Accommodation


    You would have a private double bedroom with connecting private bathroom (shower, w.c. and washbasin). Living as one of the family, we all eat together. Mostly everything is homemade from fresh locally sourced produce and we especially love cheese!! In the summer we mostly eat outside and BBQ quite a bit. Eventually, we hope to build an outside kitchen complete with bread/pizza oven. As a professional chef, I have experience of adapting dishes for vegetarians, coeliacs and those with other dietary requirements - but please let us know in advance!!

    The household is non-smoking.

    Vous avez une chambre double privée avec salle de bain privée (douche, w.c. et lavabo). Vivant comme un membre de la famille, nous mangeons tous ensemble. Surtout tout est fait maison avec des produits frais et locaux et nous aimons particulièrement le fromage! En été, nous mangeons surtout à l'extérieur et barbecue un peu. Finalement, nous espérons construire une cuisine extérieure complète avec four à pain / pizza. En tant que chef professionnel, j'ai l'expérience de l'adaptation des plats pour les végétariens, les cœliaques et ceux qui ont d'autres besoins alimentaires - mais s'il vous plaît laissez-nous savoir à l'avance.

    La maison est non-fumeur.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The village of Olliergues is just a few minutes walk down the hill (takes longer walking back up!!) and has plenty of shops, bars, a pizzeria, hairdressers, library and even a beauty spa. There is a small market on a Saturday and an artisanal market on Sundays in the summer. The towns of Ambert and Thiers are only 30 minutes away with regular busses. There are lots of things to do in the local area including lake swimming, climbing, hang gliding, zip-wires, horse riding, fishing and we are less than 30 minutes for several ski stations and sledging areas.
    The cities Clermont Ferrand and Vichy are just an hour away and central Lyon is 90 minutes.

    We often go on adventures with the children - to museums, parks, galleries, ice-skating or swimming - and you would be welcome to join us. There are also many events during the year including music festivals and firework displays.

    Le village d'Olliergues est à quelques minutes à pied de la colline (il faut plus de temps pour monter la colline!) Il y a des magasins, des bars, une pizzeria, des coiffeurs, une bibliothèque et un salon de beauté. Il y a un petit marché le samedi et un marché artisanal le dimanche en été. Les villes d'Ambert et Thiers sont à seulement 30 minutes avec des bus réguliers. Il ya beaucoup de choses à faire dans la région, y compris la natation, l'escalade, le deltaplane, les tyroliennes, l'équitation, la pêche et nous sommes à moins de 30 minutes pour plusieurs stations de ski et des zones de luge.
    Les villes de Clermont Ferrand et Vichy sont à seulement une heure et le centre de Lyon est à 90 minutes.

    Nous partons souvent en aventure avec les enfants - dans les musées, les parcs, les galeries, le patin à glace ou la natation - et vous êtes invités à vous joindre à nous. Il y a aussi de nombreux événements au cours de l'année, y compris des festivals de musique et des feux d'artifice.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 199489477385