Enjoy nature, gardening and other outdoor projects while discovering the island in St Peters Harbour, Canada

  • Favourited 21 times
  • Last activity: 25 May 2024

Availability

  2024 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    Welcome to our strictly non-smoking, partially vegetarian, private homestead on the north shore of beautiful Prince Edward Island, Canada. Named after the retired math professor that my wife and I look after, it is intended to be a magical, relaxing, inclusive space for all who use it. We often host campers and other semi long-term travellers in exchange for land-based labour, art-making, cleaning, laundry, deck-staining, painting, bike maintenance, vegetarian cooking, senior-care, dog-sitting or other contributions. If you have your own power tools and/or a car and are able to run errands, that’s particularly helpful! :-)

    I'm a certified teacher, licensed pilot and mother of adult monozygotic twins. We welcome all potential workawayers; new Canadians, LGB family, artists and neuro-atypicals are particularly welcome.

    Rick, the elderly gentleman my wife and I look after (and with whom we co-own the property) can be somewhat cranky; he is on site about 30% of the time, and spends the rest of his time in Charlottetown and/or Mexico. He is learning Spanish and also plays chess, but doesn't really like people. When he is here, he obsesses about garbage sorting and washing dishes "properly".

    We have a human-friendly rescue dog, Sneakers, on site. Unfortunately she is quite dog aggressive, so if you’re travelling with your pet, that would be a consideration; everyone needs to be leashed at all times and separation maintained. (We do have a fenced in area where dogs can run freely.)

    Our property comprises nearly 3 acres of partially treed land, and is a short walk/bike ride to the beach and local lighthouse, one of the oldest on PEI. We are about a 40 minute drive from downtown Charlottetown. Use of three shared bikes can be included in your stay. A little free library at the edge of the property will keep you in books throughout your time with us, and we also have several firepits and board games as well as an outdoor shower (clothing optional).

    As mentioned, we are a mostly vegetarian (but not vegan) household. In season, we have fresh mint, lavender, various berries and tomatoes. The property and all buildings on it are strictly non-smoking (that includes vaping). The outdoor shower and several fire pits add to the property’s rustic charm; there are also two indoor toilets and sinks which are shared with the owner, as well as two small outdoor and one indoor kitchen.

    The living arrangements are “rustic plus”; think of Glamping. We have two small off-grid cabins with no electricity or running water and a few different "campsites" ideal for your tent or van. Everyone is welcome to use the main building which has a kitchen in it, as well as a bunkbed, two toilets, a sink, washer/dryer and indoor shower as well. (So yes, there is running water and electricity in the kitchen.) We also have a large open room upstairs that is accessed by an external staircase. It’s sometimes used as a common area for boardgames and just hanging out… There is a washroom there as well, a comfy sofa and chairs, woodburning stove, boardgames, etc. On occasion, that space is used as a separate “apartment“ for someone looking for something a little more comfortable. (Our own "suite" consists of a bedroom, bathroom and closet. It is attached to the main building, but is off-limits to visitors.)

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Language practice
    Help with Eco Projects
    Elderly Companionship
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    PEI is a popular summer and fall tourist destination for both Canadians and global visitors. Its big, open skies, green fields, red soil and sandy beaches are irresistible. Fresh seafood (especially mussels, lobster and oysters) are plentiful and beloved here on the Island. There is also a fairly large farm community here and interest in organic, off-grid lifestyles, so you can learn from/with others or share your own expertise. If you are a city dweller, spending some time in a rural area, surrounded by nature, may be particularly beneficial. We have many birds, rabbits, skunks, red foxes in the area, and are within walking/biking distance to the confederation trail.

    The Indigenous people of this area are the Mi'kmaq, and there are four reserves on the Island, including Scotchfort, about a 15 minute drive from our place. Powwows are held once or twice a year, and are open to the public.

  • Help

    Help

    We always have a running list... anything from weeding, to trimming/maintaining our "enchanted forest path", to ongoing hurricane Fiona cleanup, to carpentry/building various things around the property, painting and repairing decks, furniture, etc. Cooking and providing some intellectual conversation for the elderly gentleman himself when he is on site, cleaning, laundry, watering and maintaining the vegetable garden, occasional dog sitting for suitable matches, personal yoga and/or elder-focused fitness classes, etc.

    I'd love to get a tree house and/or screened-in porch built out of reclaimed materials if possible... Really, whatever you can offer, I am sure we'll find a way to make it work, as long as you are willing to contribute, be independent, and able to take some initiative. Also love artistic additions to the enchanted forest, and we are trying to learn Spanish!

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    German: Intermediate
    Spanish: Beginner
    French: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    Would be interested in improving our Spanish, and game to teach or practice English with visitors. Also enjoy speaking German when able.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Your choice of big canvas bell tent, small, private 8x8 off-grid cabin or upper floor of main building (your own toilet and sink), with shared kitchen downstairs in the main building. Possibly bunkbeds in main kitchen downstairs. Each of these spaces comfortably sleep 2, with the bunks obviously being a little less private, as they are located in the kitchen.

    You would be responsible for your own food, but are welcome to use our fridge and kitchen. Perhaps we could plan some meals together and take turns cooking (My oatmeal, hemp & flaxseed buttermilk pancakes are pretty good!!)

    If you are staying in a tent or your own van/camper, or the small off-grid cabin, you can share our washroom in the main building. There is also an outdoor shower. We are open to composting toilet solutions as well. We have an outdoor shelter that can be used as a "kitchen", and a rain barrel shower, if you prefer your own space.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    I divide my time between Charlottetown and St Peters Harbour (the land in question), though I am mostly on the land. I myself lead a very busy life, and making music is a big part of it. The old man putters a lot, "sorting" (obsessing over) garbage and recycling, and washing dishes and stacking them meticulously. Other than that, he watches political shows on his laptop (with headphones) and plays chess online. He is in the process of moving into a retirement home, so may not be around too much.

    We prefer a quiet, peaceful environment. Acoustic music and/or the odd conversation is great, but yelling, screaming and listening to amplified music/movies without headphones is not so welcome.

    In your time off, you may wish to visit various sites around the island -- there is a walking/biking trail (confederation trail) that covers the whole island. The use of bikes is included for you, and you can occasionally use our vehicle (especially if combined with errands such as grocery shopping and/or deliveries/pick ups of various things).

    Greenwich is nearby, and definitely worth a visit if you are into Nature and the dunes!

    If trying to contact me by phone, WhatsApp sometimes works better as I turn off my Canadian data plan when I am out of the country.

    We are looking forward to the possibility of hosting you soon! :-)

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    We have wifi in the main building. It is not super fast, but I have used it successfully with some regularity for working from home.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    Less than 20 feet in length, please. Parking on the gravel areas only, unless leaving camper for extended periods of time (then on the grass in designated areas is fine).

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    We have a dog on site most of the time, and unfortunately she is somewhat dog aggressive, so we would have to maintain separation. There is a fenced in area for your dog to run free, otherwise all dogs must be kept on a leash on the property. Please pick up after your dog on the paths, road and at the beach. No cats in the main building due to allergies. Rabbits and other critters are usually fine, just check with us beforehand. :)

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    7-12 hours/week

Host ref number: 198685822434

Feedback

Help out around our property in stunning surroundings in the heart of BC, Tatlayoko Lake , Canada
Help us with our hobby farming on the west coast in Victoria, Canada