Scheduled messaging update :) The messaging system will be offline for a maximum of about 15 minutes at 14:30 h CET / 20:30 h HKT (current server time: 14:20 CET). Thanks for your patience.   close ×

Help with renovation, gardening and more in the countryside of the Gers, France

Country

France

Favourited 30 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    13/07/2021

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least 3 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello, Bonjour, Ciao, Hola,

    We are Damien and Phill, a French-Welsh couple, hovering around the 40 year-old mark. We live in the rolling countryside of the Gers, a department in the south-west of France. Toulouse is the nearest big city at 45 minutes away. We are surrounded by beautiful towns and villages, and wonderful traditional markets (therefore the food is great!). We have lived in the general area for 5 years and like it here, there are incredibly beautiful places within driving distance.

    We have bought a rambling old farmhouse which we are in process of renovating, sometimes slowly, other times at speed! Surrounding the house is an orchard, gardens, prolific veggie garden etc. In the summer the fields around us are planted with sunflowers and wheat, it's very picturesque! I also have a flower plot from which I sell bouquets to nearby businesses.

    We would like to find someone who is happy to help us out with a variety of domestic activities- gardening, helping collect and process our veggies to store for the winter, cut grass, some building and renovation jobs also.

    We have plenty of animals, so animal-lover is a must!

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I (Phill) am a CELTA qualified and experienced English teacher so I am happy to support someone who wishes to improve their English language skills. I am also happy to share gardening/flower-farming knowledge with anyone interested in the process. And I can generally be easily persuaded to go exploring/visiting the countryside around us, visiting magnificent hill top towns, sleepy sun-baked villages and indulging in many coffees at little cafes.

    We would like to meet people who are ready to laugh, to eat, drink, play board games, relax and watch movies with, to introduce to friends and generally fit into our daily lives. Very rarely do we have a fixed schedule.

  • Help

    Help

    We moved into our farm recently, and are renovating the property while we live here. It's a big project. Therefore we are looking for someone (or a couple) who is handy and happy to help us out with the daily works. As if renovating a huge farmhouse wasn't enough we have made a large vegetable garden and orchard so we would love to find a keen gardener who can dig, weed, shovel, weed, plant, weed and generally likes being outside.

    And to add to the above two projects we are seeking a real animal person. We have birds (plural) and a massive (but exceptionally friendly) dog called Fritz and new puppy Otis. Fritz loves people immensely so you'd have to really like dogs, as he is super affectionate and happy (thankfully!). There are cats, ducks and chickens too.

    Because of the above activities we would also appreciate help with general cleaning tasks...Fritz generates a lot of hair also!

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Italian: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a cute bedroom which is cool in summer and cosy in winter. There is, at present, a shared bathroom and separate toilet (both will be removed/renovated soon) and we hope to progress with one ensuite bathroom this winter.
    I tend to be the chef of the household, and I enjoy cooking (as I mentioned earlier the local produce if truly delicious, and of course we grow a lot in the summer). We mainly eat organic/local/ethical and very little meat. Dietary needs can be accommodated- I like to be creative in the kitchen!

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Though it is possible to walk to two lovely local towns from our property it can take an hour by foot through the back lanes (though less than 5 mins by car along the main road). Therefore having a vehicle would be a good idea. I am happy to lend my vintage van for local running about, and I swap vehicles with Damien if a longer trip is required.

    There are a few of Frances 'Most Beautiful Villages' near us (1 is 4 minutes away), and several more simply picturesque places worth visiting. Toulouse is lovely and worth exploring, and as we are situated between the Med and the Atlantic, and an hour and half from the Pyrenees, there are always great places to move on to.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    We have a large hangar we can use to park motorhomes under.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    Pets must be very animal friendly (chickens, cats, dogs on site) and vaccinated.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week



Host ref number: 534767794564