Help with busy rural family life near Inverness, Scotland


United Kingdom

Favourited 209 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends


  • Badges

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  • Description


    We are a family of five, living in a rural spot between Invergordon and Tain in the Highlands of Scotland. We have about 18 acres of rather untamed land, which has a ruined A listed Georgian mansion (of which we have restored one part where we live), a rather wild 4 acre walled garden (where our vegetable patch and poly tunnel are), a lovely pond, many beautiful old trees, a hay field and a bothy (where we lived whilst re-building the wing of the house). Our children are aged 12 (Felix), 15 (Tallulah) and 17 (Tabitha). Sophie is a French and Spanish teacher and works full-time in Tain whilst Nicky is a self-employed plumber and builder, spreading himself between looking after the children, the grounds, the house and the occasional plumbing or building job, sometimes going away for longer spells on larger building/plumbing contracts. Music, sport and food play a big part of our lives with lots of involvement in the Scottish traditional music scene, mountain biking, skiing, hill walking, dirt biking and cooking. Our family life is fairly chaotic but we always come together to eat every evening.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    The most important aspect of the Workaway experience for us is meeting interesting, new people from different places who are also interested in communication and cultural exchange of ideas and experiences with us. Any volunteers who stay with our family will find out lots about Scottish and Highlands culture, particularly the traditional music scene but also the landscape, history, traditions and politics of modern Scotland.

  • Help


    We are self-sufficient in our house heating system, using our own logs, meaning that there is always wood to process. The school week is very busy with lots of after school activities and sometimes at the weekends too. It is always appreciated if volunteers are keen to show us the type of food they like to cook! We live in a large house in the countryside and help with general housework, tidying, cleaning and washing the dishes is always greatly appreciated. There is always grounds care, such as mowing, strimming, fencing, clearing etc needing done. Volunteers who come to stay really need to be able to take the initiative with regards to jobs around the place, once they have been shown and explained what they are. Also, it's really important to be open, dynamic, energetic, responsible, honest and patient. Finally, we are really happy to welcome volunteers whose first language is not English but we think it's very important for volunteers to feel completely comfortable to say when they don't understand so that we can all get the most out of the experience. Please read our profile and if you are interested in staying with us, we would love it if you could say what sort of jobs you think you would be good at.

  • Accommodation


    We have a self-contained "granny flat" with en-suite bathroom which is sometimes available and a large downstairs room with a double bed and two single beds. There is a shower room downstairs opposite the large room. Wifi is available throughout the house.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There's a local bus service which runs every hour to Inverness (about 30 miles away) and is roughly a 50 minute bus ride. There are plenty of local walks/bike routes from the house. We are about 6 miles from both Invergordon and Tain, small towns with shops, cafes etc. Of course this is a good base from which to explore the majestic mountainous scenery of the whole of the Highlands of Scotland.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (4.5)

Communication: (4.5)

Host ref number: 197958289943