Come and help at our place and experience different cultural flavors in Chicago, USA

Country

United States

updated   Last minute

Favourited 225 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    5  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    20/09/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    632

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    97.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 16 days

  • paid opportunity

    Host offers payment

     

  • Badges

    Good Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
This listing is a Last minute host. They have let us know that they are looking for help immediately as well as at other times of the year.
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️Please put the dates in the Subject Line of your email. For example, "June 1 - July 4, flexible." *️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️

    Hi, My name is Mary. I have a B&B/ hostel in Chicago. Now, I travel a lot.

    The house is the house that I grew up in as a child so I know all it's idiosyncrasies. The house is in a quiet and very safe neighborhood on the Northwest side of Chicago. If you need to be closer to the city center, this is not the choice for you. However, many prefer to take the nearby train in order to stay in a safe neighborhood. It is very close to the CTA train, airport and the highway. There are parks and stores and a library in walking distance. It's right next to the Kennedy Expressway and a 10 minute walk to the Blue Line train station. There's a flower garden and 4 guest rooms. 2 of the 1st floor rooms are private guest rooms. The 2nd floor has 2 Shared Rooms. Soon, your bed will be in the Shared guest room! :-) We have guests that come from all around the world, including Europe, Asia, Africa, South America, and North America. Many are medical students here to take their exam to become a licensed physician.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Help in the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    First of all, travellers will be meeting guests from every continent. As I type this, I have a doctor from Dubai and a couple from Brazil and a young woman from Germany on the 2nd floor. Also, Travellers can experience the beautiful museums, the Theater District, parks, and uniques architecture for which the city of Chicago is famous. There are unique areas in the city that have different cultural flavors, like Chinatown and Greek town and Little Italy, etc. There are some sculpture parks and a unique lakeshore that is ALL public land with a walking/bicycle trail. During the warmer months, there are many free concerts, outdoor symphony and theater performances. When I am home, travellers can meet my friends and explore the Chicago Botanic Gardens and other activities.

  • Host offers a wage in line with the minimum wage

    Host offers a wage in line with the minimum wage

    This host offers accommodation and payment.

  • Help

    Help

    Your position is called House Manager. You will be showing the guests where things are located in the house; and helping guests. There's also a component of cleaning the house. The third part of the House Manager's is an occasional repair or maintenance to the house.
    Travellers will be working *️️usually*️️ 9:00 - 13:00. The hours are not guaranteed. It could be earlier if guests leave early. There will be times when you will be asked to stay in the evening once or twice a week to greet guests and show them around the house. Giving the "guest tour" takes around 5 minutes. Travellers will be taking the old sheets off the beds. And Workawayers will be putting new sheets on every time a guest checks out. then, cleaning the bathroom; watering the plants; dusting and vacuuming the room. There is some outdoor work, such as watering the lawn or shoveling the snow. There is trash and recycling removal that is important to do daily. If there are no guests checking out that day, then workawayers can spend the day wherever they want. Maybe go into downtown. There is also a small amount of gardening in the flower garden. There are small projects of painting of the guest room closet, the doors, etc. Those closets are small.

    The following are only part of the House Rules:
    - It is important to stay overnight on the property. This work is not a just a cleaning lady's job. If you are staying overnight somewhere else, we will need to discuss it beforehand. Too many overnights will prompt a request to leave.
    - Removing things from guest room, even temporarily, for your own use is not permitted.
    - Nothing illegal is permitted on the property by guests or Workaway volunteers. We all abide by the same House Rules.
    - Be gentle on the machinery. (i.e. vacuum cleaners, lamps, microwaves, etc.) If it repeatedly occurs, the cost will be deducted from your food budget.
    - The first 2 weeks are a mutual trial basis to see if this is a

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English. I speak Spanish like a 4 year old. And I speak French like a slow 3 year old.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    The upstairs Shared Guest Rooms will be available for sleeping.
    There is a good chance you will be sharing a room with guests and another Workaway volunteer as it is a Shared Room. We have privacy screens, too.
    You will be provided pay of $8.25 per hour. *️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️HOWEVER,*️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️ funds will be deducted towards room and board. Room and board costs $29 a day for that rental bed you will be occupying; plus $11 food per day; + electricity, water for your laundry, bath, internet, satellite TV, furnace/air conditioner, etc. provided. It all adds up. All the beds are foam.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There is public transportation throughout the city of Chicago and it is very easy. You can take the train from the airport to my B&B and to every part of the city. It's $5. And a week pass is $28; a month pass is $105. The pass will take you everywhere in the city.
    Once you are shown how to take care of the B & B and the guests, you will be independent. I will provide you with a calendar and text you about the next guest arriving. I use WhatsApp and Skype.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Typically 3-4 hours per day. Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.7)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)






Host ref number: 197937577323