Help our family at our mountain home in the beautiful mountains of Hemsedal, Norway

Country

Norway

new host  

Favourited 16 times


  • rating

    Host rating

    Not yet rated
  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    17/09/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are an American family of 4 living at a mountain lodge in the beautiful mountains of Hemsedal, Norway, looking to meet fellow world travelers who would be interested in helping us with various tasks around the property. If you love nature, being outdoors and rustic living in a small village this is the perfect work-travel opportunity for you.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will gain exposure to people from all over the world during your interaction with guests of the mountain lodge and our family as well -- we are originally from California and New York, USA. One of us is a very talented carpenter and interior designer and the other is a certified aromatherapist and former retail business manager with lots of operational knowledge to share. We love sharing our stories and experience from life and look forward to learning alongside others to love nature and the outdoors. The mountain lodge itself is under new management so you would get to see the new business reimagined and be a support to those on the property creating the vision for this travel destination in Norway.

  • Help

    Help

    We are specifically looking for help with projects related to our private household such as maintaining the land, support with gardening projects, light maintenance and cleaning of our home, laundry and occasional cooking and childcare for our 2 young children (ages 4 and 3) while we are both at work. We work many nights and weekends due to events at the Lodge, so would need occasional child care when the children are not at school.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English (learning Norwegian...)

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    The Workawayers would be staying in an apartment at the lodge where I live with my family.
    Shared guest-room in a larger space which sleeps a total of 14 people. Each guest-room sleeps 2 people maximum in a twin bed and you would have access to multiple shared bathrooms, a kitchen and communal dining and lounge space. You would be sharing the larger apartment with other Workawayers and would most likely have your own private room (this can be requested). You also have unlimited access to our expansive land, nature and the picturesque mountain views of Norway. Each workaway guest would be provided with bed linens and a towel.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are located a 15 minute drive away from the closest town and our workaway guests would be offered a ride from the host during each trip into town. In town there are various shops, outdoor / ski supply stores, restaurants, a cafe and a grocery store. Steps from the lodge are several mountain trails for biking, hiking, cross country skiing and lake swimming. You are also a 20-minute drive from Hemsedal Skisenter, a destination for skiiers and snowboarders in the 'Scandinavian Alps.'

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 194973771916