Childcare help for an active family in New Westminster, Canada

Country

Canada

Favourited 11 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    18/09/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    80.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least 3 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi there, my wife and I are both early 40's and have three young, active children ranging in age from 4 to 9. We love to seek out outdoor adventures which can include cycling, skiing, hiking and kayaking/paddleboarding. Come join us and partake in the fun!

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Teaching
    Gardening
    Babysitting and creative play
    Help around the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    They will have the opportunity to see the beauty of the Vancouver and surrounding areas and explore the great cycling, hiking and water sports through our coastal rainforests and mountains and ocean.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    We are looking for a young woman or couple to help manage a busy household, taking care of 3 kids, cleaning and food prep for three to five weeks at a time. My wife and I both work full time although Karyn has a somewhat flexible schedule. Most of the help we would need would be evenings after school or possibly weekends and you would likely have your days free to do what you wished and explore what the New Westminster and Vancouver area has to offer. In the summer we may just need housesitting if we are on vacation.

    Babysitting would be expected so that my wife and I can get out for the occasional date or bike ride. You must be capable of looking after 3 active and energetic kids. We love all sorts of outdoors activities including hiking, cycling, downhill and cross country skiing, kayaking and paddleboarding. The boys are also soccer crazy and would love to have someone with the ability to teach them new skills.

    It would be lovely if you were into gardening as we have a large garden and yard that we love spending time in but could always use more attention. We are also adventurous with exploring new foods if you wish to cook some new dishes for us. The kids are keen to meet new people and learn about new languages and cultures and food/cooking.

    **COVID update. We will likely wait until the pandemic is settling down and there has been large scale vaccination prior to starting hosting. Hoping for June 2021?

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    Would love to expose the kids to French but other languages welcome too.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a large basement bedroom with Queen bed, desk, dressers and closets that will be your personal space in our basement. There is a bathroom for your use in the basement, a separate entrance and TV, table tennis and couch in the basement.
    We can provide shared meals but we also have a small kitchen area in our basement it you prefer to prepare your own meals.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We have several bikes available to borrow depending on what you’re looking for (mountain biking, road or around town).

    We try to get away to our Whistler condo once a month for alpine or Nordic skiing in winter or cycling and hiking in summer. There may be the option of you joining us in Whistler.

    It is as easy as walking across the street to Queen’s Park (New Westminster’s flagship park) with all sorts of amenities. We are in a nice walkable neighbourhood of ‘heritage homes’ and easy 10 min walk to Uptown Newest and the Quay (riverfront) area with Skytrain rapid transit access to rest of Vancouver. There is a nearby Farmer’s Market in summer to walk to and pick up local produce.

    Evo (Evo.ca) cars are a co-op car share program you can sign up for in advance so you can have your own transportation while here.

    We have a strict No Smoking policy!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    We do have a 25 Mbps internet connection although the WiFi signal may be a little weaker/slower in our basement bedroom but of course you're welcome to use it.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 194511922668