Come and enjoy the Olympia part of Puget sound.

Country

United States

Favourited 64 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    19/08/2019

Contact Register
  2019 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Positive, retired, older woman needs help with yard projects and heavy gardening. I am digging out and then layering sand and gravel, for a path around the house to place brick pavers. There is also a two wooden decks that need to be ripped out.

    I live in pristine Olympia, in Washington state. Disclaimer: there is Washington DC, and then there is Washington state, top of the west coast bordering British Columbia, Canada. I am in Washington state, out west.

    Enjoy the nearby Puget Sound, fresh, clean air, clear, rushing rivers and lakes as well as lush, green forest atmosphere of the Pacific Northwest. Most, is within walking distance or acessible by public bus.

    Summers are mild

    Olympia is wonderful, diverse, community located an hour south of Seattle. It is an urban, college town. My small condo/cottage is located on the west side, within walking
    distance from the small, but interesting and active downtown area, one block from the food co-op. Bus service is a block away.

    You would have your own small room , but share the bathroom. Basic food is provided for breakfast and lunch. And, I usually prepare dinner. If you require gluten-free, entirely organic, vegetarian food, you can walk around the corner to the Food-coop to purchase your special needs.

    I do Workaway and have recently been to a coffee farm in Hawaii as well as a housekeeping stint in New Zealand. But I need to take care of some house projects at home.

    Please anticipate working 4 hours a day, 4 days a week, with a 3-day, weekend to explore the Pacific Northwest.

    Please understand, no guests allowed. Please be able to communicate in English. Please practice good hygiene. Sense of humor is a plus.

    I am looking forward to meeting travelers who would love to become acquainted with my beautiful corner of the planet. This is a mild climate and very enjoyable year round. My family and I are unprentenous, down-to-earth people who appreciate a fairly simple life.

    There is urban nightlife here, of sorts, 2 universities, but not city nightlife. You can access city night life in Seattle a two hour bus ride north.

    Best wishes as you make lifetime memories as a work away.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Other
    Language practice
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Help

    Help

    Interested in someone who can be given direction and take the initiative to be thorough. I have some projects for house and yard that need to be completed.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    A one bedroom, nice blow up bed, shared bathroom is available. Kitchen is available for food preparation when I am not cooking. This is a laid back causal atmosphere.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Washington is a beautiful, diverse state. It is paradise for those who appreciate lush, green nature, snow capped mountain ranges, rushing rivers lots of lakes. We are best known for lots of rain in 3 seasons of the year, a layed-back, casual lifestyle (for Americans), and drinking coffee (Starbucks originates here). The coast is 2 hours to the west and snow capped Mount Rainier 2 hours to to the east. Seattle, our largest city is 2 hours north, and Vancouver/Victoria, British Columbia, Canada area is 4 hours north.
    Connecting buses (with reasonable bus passes) are everywhere.

    I am interested in a mutually satisfying experience. I am easy to get along with but do have healthy boundaries. You need to have respect, a work ethic and a good attitude and zeal for life.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 4 days a week

Taken at the beach in Kona, HI, 08/14/15 (while doing workaway on a coffee farm). V
Taken 04/15 newly retire!
Front patio with hummingbird feeder and red hUmmingbird fountain. As you have guessed - I love hummingbirds and their antics.
Long Beach/Washington Coast sunset. This is one of my favorite places to camp.
Taken on a day hike on the Nooksak River, east of Bellingham, WA (very close to the Canadian/US border.
A front view of my "cottage" (ground floor condo) in old neighborhood of west Olympia.
Host ref number: 193939725552