Stay at our family owned farm in Tuscany and learn about farming, nutrition and music while helping on our land and garden, Italy

Country

Italy

Favourited 492 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    42  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    23/11/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Top Host
 
  2021 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We own a small and yet complete organic family farm on a hill in Tuscany, right in the center of Italy. Among our products there is a fine Merlot wine, olive oil, a vegetable garden and eggs from our chickens.

    Andro is also a musician and writer and Marina is a doctor specialized in acupuncture and nutrition.
    Works here are of course seasonal and they vary with the needs of the time. There is
    a lot to learn and some skills and experience are welcome.

    We have been living here since a long time -well over twenty years- and are now in the process of
    redifining our reach (property is very large) and redesigning our
    projects so they are not overwhelming. You will not be overworked!

    We welcome individuals, couples or small groups.

    In time you can begin to feel that you are living within the very landscapes that Leonardo, Michelangelo, Botticelli, Raffaello looked upon every day of their lives and portrayed in many of their paintings.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay help
    Help around the house
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We can teach Italian. Marina is a doctor and a nutritionist, she can be a precious source of information. She is also an excellent and trained cook, so something can be learnt in that field too. Andro can teach how to create etchings, from the engraving of the plate to the printing process. Also him being a musician some guitar tricks can be forwarded. Both Marina and Andro have university and classical education, therefore History and Art can be discussed.

    Andro can teach how to build a house, from foundation to roof, and is a good stone mason.
    Living in this beautiful and generous Land we have the opportunity of Learning in practical areas, and also in the spiritual field.

    Sharing our information about a balanced relationship with our Land and all the Beings is our long term dedication and source of joy.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    The experience of true and balanced survival in the country is deep and manyfold. Most farming activities are medium-long term processes, such as, for instance, the wine making or the olive and fruit orchard care. Each step though is interesting in itself: pruning an olive tree is an art, and also transforming grapes into wine is no joke.

    There is a vegetable garden that needs tending. Flower garden also likes to be cared for, sometimes. We also clean our woods for winter heating necessity. We use some tools that we can teach how to handle: bush cutters, hand tools, etc. You won't be expected to use engines you don't feel comfortable with.

    The dirt road leading to the house needs at times some attention too.

    We use Mac computers and programs like Logic X and Sibelius for Andro's music, and expertise in that direction is welcome.

    When fruit jams are being prepared for the winter, some help might be asked for.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Italian: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Single room with personal bathroom if alone, or shared room if more than one.
    Meals together.
    Cleaning of the personal rooms is expected.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    If you don't have personal means of transportation (which is recommended) you'll depend upon our trips to town, 16km=25 min drive away. We don't go there every day. From the railway station: Firenze (1 hour) Roma (2 hours), Arezzo (30 minutes) Cortona (30 minutes). Interesting walks on the surrounding hills. On the premises there is a well provided library in English.
    Very relaxing, quiet and peaceful: we like to keep it that way.
    No smoking in rooms, no open fires.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.8)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)



























Host ref number: 192228327647