Victoria & Donald

From: United States

  • ...

    Account Type

    Couple account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    France, Spain

  • ...

    Travel dates

    25/07/2016 - 01/10/2020

  • number of facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends


  • Badges

    Super Workawayer
    Facebook verified

  • Description

    I always wanted to explore the world. I wanted to meet people, share stories, enjoy each day for the moment, and keep memories rather than stuff collected. My wife and my four daughters are excited to share in the experiences that come from helping others. By living within the breath of adventure we worry less about heavy matters. I am energetic and enthusiastic; and my kids will help me with your chores . I am a family man, my kids are super cool! My favorite person in the world is my wife. My girls like ice cream, swimming, and animals. My wife likes telling me to put on sunscreen, small fuzzy critters, fruits, vegetables, and nuts. Hope we are the right people for you.
    On New Year’s day 2016 we became a world traveling family. We’ve limited our personal possessions to what we can carry in our backpacks, and left only a 1989 20’ RV in the United States, which stores precious objects too valuable to surrender, but not useful enough to carry with us on the road.
    We have three main reasons for traveling the world. First, we want to build strong family connections with each other. Second, we want to be useful -- helping, learning, and finding enrichment from another. Lastly, the world is a huge place and exploring it is a fascinating way to spend each day.
    We think of ourselves as freethinkers, following a path of minimalism, while creating an experience-driven life. We believe in education and inspire each other to be productive through learning. Work and cultural exchanges enrich our life and help us learn and appreciate the world around us.
    Traveling has allowed us to discover all types of food. We do not have any food allergies. Food is fun, and we are always grateful to share what is provided. Over the past two years of travel, we have stayed in huts, studios, basements and attics. In our backpacks, we carry some blankets and four hammocks. Even though we are a large family, we often choose to stay in cozy places, because we love to be outdoors, exploring nature and new surroundings. Whatever space you have available for us, we will cherish.
    Can we help you?
    Our girls are 18, 15, 14 and 12, who are independently educating themselves via KhanAcademy, Coursera, CrashCourse, Duolingo, TedEd, the world around them, and currently, a Spanish secondary school in Tenerife, Spain.
    Rachael (Age: 12): Good at everything. Passionately accepts work in the kitchen, animal care, conversational English lessons, and would gladly hold a paintbrush or work with mud and straw. Loves to sing and play her ukulele.
    Lauren (14): Of course, good at everything! Passionately accepts conversational English lessons, yard work, holding a leash, or helping on the computer. Loves Anime and egg ham and cheese sandwiches. Lauren loves to draw, read for hours and to tell funny stories.
    Kathryn (15): Enjoys most - baking, art and craft projects. Kathryn is also a great friend to animals. If you have a bakery, restaurant, farm or a stable, the skills you could empower her with through work will follow her into adulthood. Kathryn is learning Spanish, and loves to write poems.
    Izabel (18): Currently employed as an English tutor via Skype and in person, as well as a full time college student. She is a published author, and was mentored by
    Her thoughts are available on her blog: and
    Photography, Web or Business development, social media, tutoring, and childcare are specific abilities she can offer. She is an active learner and is willing to explore new skills that you could share with her. She loves taking photos, writing and history, and is currently attending a university in Colorado via their online program. She now has her own profile linked with ours.
    Victoria & Don (40 & 42): Victoria has devoted herself to bringing up awesome kids. She is university educated and worked in banking and as a waitress before children. She speaks English and Russian. Don has had many jobs. His favorite jobs have been cooking in restaurants and he has a love/hate relationship with truck driving. Cooking is a passion that allowed him to explore cultures through food. Driving a truck allowed him to look at the changing landscape and seasons, but took him away from his family. Like Victoria, he is university educated. His work in the stock market, real estate market, and property management reflect his MBA education.
    Over the past three years of full time travel around the world we have been to Japan, Mexico, London, Croatia, Thailand, Malaysia, Norway, Denmark, France, Spain, Italy, Morocco, Montenegro, Macedonia, Serbia, Bulgaria and Bosnia. We stay primarily at Airbnbs, as well as use workaway to make social connections and volunteer. We taught English at a primary school in Uttaradit, Thailand, helped host a ceramics conference in Tolne, Denmark, assisted teachers at a language academy near Casablanca, Morocco, helped in a garden of a community center near Granada, Spain, helped at a farm/horse riding camp with goats, horses and children near Veliko Tarnovo, Bulgaria, taught English at a Cambridge Language school near Seville, helped out with general clearing/painting projects near Huelva, Spain, took care of animals and property at a hotel for guests with special needs near Faro, Portugal, as well as helped a family with house projects near Marselle. We have met lots of wonderful people while traveling the world, and can't wait to make more connections and learn more about different places we visit.
    Currently, we are working as language assistant teachers in Tenerife, Spain, with summer travel plans to France.
    Thank you for considering hosting us.
    CV Style:
    Donald is a USA native English speaker. He holds a degree in Business management and a graduate MBA degree from Fort Hays State University in Hays, KS USA. He was last employed with the United States government. He has had several successful businesses and is an entrepreneur. His background includes: real estate, security/investments, logistics/freight-forwarding, and IT technology. His knowledge, skills, and abilities include hospitality management, culinary arts, teaching, customer service, counseling and coaching, childcare, nutrition and fitness.
    Victoria is a USA English speaker. Having lived 20 years in the US, she is fluent in both English and Russian languages. Victoria holds a Bachelor's degree in Business Administration with Human Resource Management and Elementary Education credit hours, as well as a minor in Sociology from the same university. Her knowledge and skills include hospitality, banking, customer service, food service, teaching, childcare, nutrition and fitness.
    TEACHING ENGLISH: AMERICAN TESOL 140 Clock Hours - Advanced and Business English Certification (DONALD)

  • Type of help

    Babysitting / child care
    Elderly Companion
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet

  • What skills do you have?

    Certified TESOL English and Business English instruction, business management (MBA), entrepreneurship, securities & finance, marketing, sales, trucking-logistics, culinary arts, aircraft maintenance (military), hospitality, property management, child-rearing, swim instruction (CPR), exercise and diet training, life coaching and motivation. Accompanied by a dual language speaker with BA in Business Administration, a mom and a life partner. Additionally accompanied by four amazingly curious, motivated self-learners and aspiring future world leaders, girls, ages 12 through 18.

  • Languages spoken

    English / Victoria: English and Russian

  • Age

    40 & 43

  • Nationality

    American (USA)

  • What else ...

    Here's a recent podcast interview our girls were invited to participate in:
    Here is a link to our airbnb reviews:

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Profile is connected to:



Working together is better than working alone.
These kids are so smart!
The unknown is not far from home, thanks to friends everywhere.
We pack light, because space is sometimes limited.
Kitchen work in Denmark for a ceramics conference.
Victoria helping at Thai school.
We love food, delicious.
Raising culturally sensitive and educated minds, with your help.