Help with my cat refuge near Gavi, Italy



Favourited 210 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Badges

    Super Host
  • Description


    I live alone, a young 71 yr old..

    My days are busy,cleaning , food water bowls, litter trays and sweeping/ vacuuming before washing floors throughout. This is where workaway people help . Old clothes are preferable! You may get splashes of bleach!
    Running a multi cat household is quite different to having one or 2 cats at home.
    Very often workaway helpers are left to do the chores if I have cats wanting to get to the vets
    It's not a glamourous position to say the least ! You need a caring attitude towards these cats.. Yes when chores are done they make great photographic subjects, love attention and a brush! There is a small bar in the village and the locals are happy to chat to "Workawayers"

    A willingness to rustle up a dinner or lunch would be great! Someone who enjoys being in the kitchen is a bonus for me!
    I do spend time on the internet fund raising ( mainly on facebook) to boost my pension, the running costs feeding so many cats a day is very high.. plus vet bills etc etc..

    I came here 11 + yrs ago... never intended to spend my retirement this way, it just sort of happened!

    There are nearly 90 cats here, in and around my home... I have an old farm house, 2 barns for the cats and 4 acres of overgrown land!

    Indoors the cats have one room just for them.. with beds/boxes and cat trees

    The rest of your time here is free to explore the area, I am in the heart of the Gavi wine growing region.. wonderful countryside with Genova city a half an hour away by train..

    In summer there are festa's in the different villages,, or you can sit and have cats climb all over you wanting to be brushed...

    Non smokers only..

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    A chance to improve or learn Italian.. A chance to observe a multi cat household, with their odd ailments..

  • Help


    I am looking for a caring, cat loving person (s) with common sense, to help clean 17 litter trays , to wash and fill food and water bowls . To sweep/hoover wash floors of my old farmhouse..

    At night the cats are fed wet food in trays outside.. which are washed out afterwards..

    This would suit a vet student ( as I may trap feral cats during the time, and a kitten may be brought round, if found in the village)

    Or suit a cat loving language student wanting to practice their Italian with the locals in this medieval Village of Parodi Ligure.. ( between Milan and Genova)

    The person (s) must be able to cook for themselves as I hate cooking :( I am vegetarian.

    .. Also, while they are here, I'd like to visit family in Uk , just for 3-4 days, so they must be happy to be "home alone" for a few days.. If this happens then they get days off in lieu to "holiday" :)

    My daughter and her husband live in the top part of the village, so there is someone around..

    So ..... someone happy to muck in, do what's necessary, but lots of free time :)

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken


  • Accommodation


    A double room of their own in the house.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    I have wifi. Trains to Milan/ Genova, wherever are reached at a station 20 minutes from here.. I'm happy to give lifts to the station.. There is a bus service to Gavi, our nearest market town, 7 klms away.. I have had people from "Trusted House sitters" stay, but they both tell me its more a working holiday, than just house sitting.. I'm pretty laid back.. just need assistance with the day to day cleaning..
    Gavi has a small market each Sunday morning and Novi Ligure a town half an hour away has a fairly large market on a Thursday morning.
    The fast train to Genova takes half an hour, a city worth a visit :)
    The village of Parodi is in the country, views of vineyards and hills..
    Wonderful walks

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    4 hours a morning, 5 days

Host ref number: 191911521145