From: Canada

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Canada, Israel, Portugal, Sweden

  • ...

    Travel dates

    25/07/2019 - 31/12/2020

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer

  • Description

    I have studied and made art for most of my adult life, so art is important to me; though I am not too serious about it. I am physically active, and I like doing things. (I am a dancer and visual artist.) Simple and subtle things in life amuse me. And, I cherish silence and solitude (the cheerful, peaceful one, not the anguished one). On the other hand, I welcome conversations that broaden my horizons. I try to avoid conversations that will lead to empty debates, though. While I am spontaneous, I am fond of order and discipline. (I am 'okay' with parties, but I prefer low-key social meetings.) I value animals and plants as much as humans. I try to remember that we all came from the universe. Although I don’t belong to any religious group, and I do believe there is a certain order to the universe. I think spirituality is important to humans. Awareness of something beyond human comprehension lets me avoid anthropocentrism and feel humble about my existence. I am interested in yoga and meditation, although I am not a very dedicated practitioner. Dancing is a form of mediation for me. I can be serious about certain things, but I am actually more lighthearted than I may sound.

    I am well-traveled. I was born in South Korea and moved to Canada in 1994. After 13 years in Canada, I moved to England for graduate studies and lived there for 6 years. During this period, I visited some countries in Western Europe. One of my memorable experiences in London was staying with a 101-year-old English lady in her old Victorian house. In exchange for free lodging, I occasionally took care of her by providing her with lunch and afternoon tea two days a week. I saw her dying slowly. It changed my view of life. At the end of my stay in London, I stayed in Sweden for one month (by accident). We drove down from Jokkmokko to Lund. (I saw Sweden!) After that, I lived in South Korea for 3 years. Prior to my return to Canada in November 2016, I visited Scandinavia (August), and Germany (October). I returned to Europe the following year. I stayed in France for two months (April and May) to do an artist’s residency. I then stayed in Romania for two months (June and July) to participate in art camps. During this two-month period, I also visited Topolo (near the border between Italy and Slovenia), and Vienna. I had eye-opening experiences during my travels in Romania and Italy. I met an Argentinian man and an Afghan man. The Afghan had walked for 4 months to escape the Taliban. I was heart-broken to listen to his story. I appreciate these unexpected discoveries, and that may be why I cannot stop travelling.

    I have taught art to college students for several years in Canada and England, so I have good social skills. I am naturally interested in many aspects of life, including people. I am good with animals and children. I offer improvisation workshops for children and adults.

    I am good at organizing and tidying. I can make healthy, vegetarian food. I don't smoke or use drugs. In general, I do not do things that will harm my body and mind.

  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    Babysitting and creative play
    Being an elderly companion
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Eco Projects
    Helping around the house
    Animal Care
    Language practice
    Art Projects
    Helping with Computers/ Internet
  • More details about your skills

    improvisation movement, contemporary dance, printmaking (silkscreen, mono-print, linocut-print), photography, graphic design, web design, video recording & editing, digital imaging, sound recording & editing, using computers, cooking, organizing

    I am currently into DIY stuff. I have been sprouting nuts, seeds, beans, grains etc. I make my own bread. I usually make thick multigrain bread. I make healthy food, but it takes long for me to cook. This was why I do not list cooking as part of my skills. I like making things with recycled things and everyday household items. In general, I like reusing things to reduce waste.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Korean: Intermediate
    French: Beginner

  • Age


  • Nationality


  • What else ...

    I am clean and tidy, but not to the point of obsessiveness. I am Korean-Canadian. I have degrees in literature, photography, interactive art, and visual culture. I eat mainly vegetables, grains, and beans, but I also eat fish and seafood now and then.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      strong sunlight, bug bites, and some plants, but not fatally

    • Special dietary requirements
      lacto-ovo-vegetarian, pesco-vegetarian